Horseback Riding From Springdale: Where To Ride When You Stay In Town
Springdale sits at Zion's pedestrian entrance, but no stable operates in town. Here is what that means for riders: the in-park concessioner's shuttle-dependent check-in, the East Zion rides about an hour east, and the Kanab option to the south.
Short answer
No stable operates inside Springdale. The only in-park ride, run by the NPS concessioner Canyon Trail Rides, checks in at the Emerald Pool trailhead across from Zion Lodge, reachable by shuttle in season, from $60 per person. The rides Springdale guests most often book sit outside the park: East Zion from $75 and Kanab from $105.
Is There Horseback Riding In Springdale Utah Itself?
No stable or riding operation is based in Springdale. The town is a gateway village of hotels, restaurants and outfitters at Zion's south entrance, and none of the riding outfits serving the area keeps horses there. Every trail ride a Springdale guest can take either enters Zion National Park with the park's concessioner or leaves town by car, roughly 30 minutes east to Mt Carmel, an hour to Orderville, or well over an hour to Kanab.
Springdale's whole identity is walkability. Guests park once, ride the free Springdale Line shuttle up the main street, and connect to the park's own Zion Canyon Line at the visitor center. That layout is superb for hiking and sightseeing and is exactly why it does not support a stable: there is no open range, no corral space, and no trail network out of town that a commercial string could use. The riding happens either inside the canyon on the concessioner's route or on private and public land well outside the village.
The town's visitor economy is built around Zion Horseback Tours territory in the wider sense: the rides that serve Springdale guests operate from the east side of the park and from Kanab, and the in-park concessioner stages from a corral inside Zion Canyon. A rider staying on Canyon Community Drive wakes up closer to world-class riding than almost anyone in Utah, but every option starts with either a shuttle ride or a drive.
That is not a flaw in the plan, it is just geography worth knowing before you book. Once you accept a short transit leg, the choices open up considerably, from the 15-minute hand-led Little Wrangler kids' ride at a Mt Carmel ranch to a 1.5-hour canyon ride near Kanab. This guide walks through each option in the order a Springdale guest would weigh it: the in-park concessioner first, since it is the closest to town, then the East Zion cluster, then the longer Kanab outing, and finally the budget and family arithmetic that ties the decision together.
Can You Ride A Horse Inside Zion National Park From Springdale?
Yes, one operator offers guided rides inside the park: Canyon Trail Rides, the National Park Service concessioner. Its one-hour Virgin River ride costs $60 per person, ages 7 and up, and its three-hour Sand Bench ride costs $125, ages 10 and up, both with a 220-pound weight limit. Check-in is at the Emerald Pool trailhead parking lot across from Zion Lodge, 30 minutes before departure, and the season typically runs mid-March through October 31.
The catch for a Springdale guest is access. Zion Lodge sits on the canyon scenic drive, which is closed to private vehicles whenever the shuttle system is running, and per the NPS shuttle page that is daily from March through November. A rider staying in Springdale without a lodge reservation reaches the check-in point by taking the Springdale Line into the park and transferring to the Zion Canyon Line toward the lodge. The NPS notes shuttles arrive roughly every 5 to 10 minutes on the canyon line, but building in a buffer for the transfer is plain sense when the operator requires arrival 30 minutes early. Confirm the stop details with the operator when you book.
Two practical notes from the operator's own page shape the decision. Cancellation must happen 24 hours in advance for a refund of the ride cost, with online booking fees non-refundable, so a weather shift the night before is recoverable but a morning-of change is not. And the one-hour route follows the Virgin River about one mile to the Court of the Patriarchs and back, a flat, quiet introduction to the canyon from saddle height rather than trail level. Riders report it works well for first-timers.
| Ride | Where | Duration | Price | Age | Weight limit |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Virgin River ride | Inside Zion Canyon | 1 hour | $60 per person | 7+ | 220 lbs |
| Sand Bench ride | Inside Zion Canyon | 3 hours | $125 per person | 10+ | 220 lbs |
These are the operator's published figures; the booking page is the authority if anything shifts. The concessioner also runs seasonal departures at set times through the day, with the one-hour ride leaving at 9:30 am, 11:00 am, 2:00 pm and 3:30 pm and the three-hour ride at 9:00 am and 1:30 pm, which matters for a Springdale guest planning a shuttle connection.
One more framing matters for this site's readers: the in-park concessioner is not bookable here. The listings compared below are the outside-park rides near the east side of Zion and in Kanab, and none of them enters the canyon or follows the Virgin River, a distinction worth holding onto as you compare.
How Far Is East Zion From Springdale, And Which Rides Run There?
Driving from Springdale to the East Zion trailheads: Carmel Highway to the park's east side, then a short way to Mt Carmel or Orderville. Six rides operate from this side, from $32 per person for the Little Wrangler kids ride, which takes riders from age 3, to $103 for the Grandview sunset ride. East Zion Adventures caps weight at 100 kg, while Rove & Ramble lists no weight limits and a minimum age of 3 on its Little Wrangler kids ride.
The drive itself is part of the appeal. State Route 9 climbs through the historic tunnel and opens onto the slickrock east side, and the NPS keeps the highway open to vehicles even during shuttle season, so the transit is straightforward. Two caveats apply: an entrance pass is required even just to pass through the park by vehicle, per the NPS fees page, and rockfall occasionally closes the road for repairs, so checking park alerts the morning of your ride is a habit worth forming.

The lineup's flagship for Springdale guests is East Zion Adventures' White Mountain ride out of Orderville, a one-hour ride to a slot canyon rated 4.8 across 506 reviews, from $75 per person, ages 8 and up with a 100 kg weight cap. Its distinctive feature is the short hike into a slot canyon after the ride, which pairs two of the east side's signature experiences in one outing. Riders park at the pickleball courts lot and walk to the corrals; there is no pickup service, which is normal for every ride in this region. It is the listing this site features for Springdale readers, and the inline availability link sits at the end of this section for readers ready to check dates.
Rove & Ramble runs three rides from Mt Carmel ranch land that suit Springdale guests differently. The Juniper Ridge ride, one hour from $68, loops past a preserve where bison may be visible at a distance, though sightings are never promised. The sunrise ride, from $85, trades a very early alarm for cooler air and views of the Grand Staircase, Zion's East Gate and Bryce Canyon on clear days. The Grandview sunset ride, from $103, covers similar panoramas at golden hour. None of these carries a rating on the listing yet, so judge them on the route descriptions rather than a score. Our guide to East Zion horseback riding covers this cluster in depth.
| Ride | Operator | Base | Duration | From | Age | Weight limit |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| White Mountain slot canyon ride | East Zion Adventures | Orderville | 1 hour | $75 | 8+ | 100 kg |
| Checkerboard evening ride | East Zion Adventures | East Zion | 1.5 hours | $89 | Not stated | 100 kg |
| Juniper Ridge bison preserve ride | Rove & Ramble | Mt Carmel | 1 hour | $68 | Not stated | Not stated |
| Sunrise ride | Rove & Ramble | Mt Carmel | 1 hour | $85 | Not stated | Not stated |
| Grandview sunset ride | Rove & Ramble | Mt Carmel | 1 hour | $103 | Not stated | Not stated |
The Checkerboard evening ride earns a closer look from Springdale guests. See our breakdown in horseback riding prices around Zion for the full cost picture.
For readers fixed on the white mountain ride, check availability on its live listing before locking the rest of a day plan around it; morning slots in peak season go first.
Is The Kanab Ride Worth The Drive From Springdale?
For many guests, yes. The Kanab Cave Lakes Canyon ride is rated 4.9 across 122 reviews, the strongest score in the region, runs about 1.5 hours from $105 per person, with a 100 kg rider weight limit. The drive from Springdale is the longest of any ride in the lineup, which pairs it naturally with a Kanab day rather than a standalone outing.
Kanab sits south and west of the park, reachable from Springdale via SR-9 west and US-89, or by looping through the east entrance if you want the tunnel drive anyway. The ride itself runs through green canyon country near Cave Lakes, a different palette from the red slickrock east of Zion, and the longer saddle time gives that quieter scenery room to sink in. There is no pickup; riders meet at the ranch, so the drive time is a fixed part of the plan rather than something you can outsource.

The honest way to frame the decision is time budget. A Springdale guest with two nights in town and one full day for riding will usually pick East Zion for the shorter drive. A guest with three or more nights, or one already planning a Kanab or Bryce loop, gets the region's best-reviewed ride almost for free on the way. Our Kanab horseback riding guide maps the logistics in detail.
It also helps that the Kanab listing spells out its inclusions clearly: horses and guide are both named on it, where most one-hour rides list only the ride and the guide. On a long outing day, that difference in what is waiting at the ranch after the ride is worth as much as the rating.
What Does A Trail Ride Near Springdale Cost All In?
Listed ride prices run from $32 per person for the 15-minute hand-led Little Wrangler kids' ride to $105 for the Kanab canyon ride, with most one-hour options between $68 and $85. On top of the ride, budget the park entrance pass if your route passes through Zion, $35 for a private vehicle valid 1 to 7 days, and fuel for the drive out of Springdale, since no operator offers pickup.

Two budget notes deserve emphasis. First, the Checkerboard evening ride costs more than the cheaper rides. Second, prices here are printed as "from" figures because the booking pages are the live authority; plan your budget on the from price shown on the live listing. Tipping the guide in cash is customary on guided rides in the region, so many families add that line to the budget too.
A third, quieter cost is time. The in-park ride's shuttle connection plus the 30-minute early check-in means a one-hour ride can consume close to three hours of a Springdale morning door to door, while an East Zion outing consumes a comparable block once the drive is counted but returns you to town by a route with viewpoints. Neither is a reason to skip riding; both are reasons to book the ride first and plan the day's other commitments around it rather than squeezing it in.
| Budget line | Typical figure | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| One-hour outside-park ride | $68 to $85 per person | Juniper Ridge, sunrise, White Mountain |
| 1.5-hour rides | $89 to $105 per person | Checkerboard evening, Kanab canyon |
| Kids' hand-led ride | $32 per person | 15 minutes, ages 3 and up |
| In-park rides | $60 to $125 per person | Concessioner, booked directly |
| Park entrance pass | $35 per vehicle | Valid 1 to 7 days, required to transit SR-9 |
| Guide tip | Customary, cash | Not included in ride price |
Which Ride Suits Which Springdale Visitor?
Families with young children should look at the Little Wrangler hand-led ride, ages 3 and up, from $32. First-time adult riders wanting the shortest commitment get the most value from a one-hour East Zion option. Photographers and couples lean toward the sunset and evening rides. Guests chasing the region's strongest reviews book Kanab, and guests who want to say they rode inside the park book the concessioner's Virgin River ride.

Age and weight limits do quiet sorting work here that the marketing copy does not always surface. East Zion Adventures lists age 8 on White Mountain only and 100 kg on both rides; Checkerboard and the Kanab operator state no minimum age, just 100 kg; Rove & Ramble lists none except Little Wrangler at age 3; the in-park concessioner sets age 7 or 10 by ride and 220 lbs. A household with a six-year-old and a taller teen may find the Mt Carmel ranch rides are the only ones that fit everyone in one booking, or may split the party across the kids' ride and an adult hour. Ask the operator about borderline weight cases rather than assuming; no operator here promises acceptance.
Beyond the numbers, think about heat. Summer temperatures in Zion are regularly over 100 degrees Fahrenheit, which is why the sunrise and evening listings exist at all; a Springdale guest booking a midday July ride should expect the saddle to be the hottest hour of the day. Spring and fall sit in the sweet spot, with wildflowers early in the season and color at the higher elevations by late October. Our best time for horseback riding in Zion guide expands on this.
| If you are... | Best fit | Why |
|---|---|---|
| A family with a 3 to 6 year old | Little Wrangler ride | Hand-led, 15 minutes, no weight limit stated |
| A first-time adult rider | White Mountain or Juniper Ridge | One hour, gentle terrain, slot canyon or preserve |
| A photographer | Grandview sunset or Checkerboard | Golden-hour light on slickrock panoramas |
| A review-reader | Kanab Cave Lakes ride | 4.9 across 122 reviews, the region's strongest |
| A park purist | In-park Virgin River ride | The only ride inside Zion Canyon, booked with the concessioner |
| A heat-averse summer visitor | Sunrise ride | Done before the day heats up |
Common Questions About Horseback Riding Near Springdale
Is there horseback riding in Springdale Utah?
No stable operates in Springdale itself. Riding options are the in-park concessioner's rides inside Zion Canyon, East Zion rides east by car, and the Kanab ride at the far end of a longer drive.
How do Springdale guests reach the in-park horseback ride?
The concessioner's check-in is at the Emerald Pool trailhead parking lot across from Zion Lodge, reachable by the Springdale Line and Zion Canyon Line shuttles during shuttle season, since private vehicles cannot drive the scenic drive then. Arrive 30 minutes early.
What is the cheapest horseback ride near Springdale?
The Little Wrangler kids' ride at $32 per person for 15 hand-led minutes. For adults, the Juniper Ridge bison preserve ride starts at $68 and most one-hour options run $68 to $85.
Do any rides near Springdale include park admission?
No. Every ride requires you to cover any park entry your route involves.
Do the outside-park rides enter Zion Canyon?
No. The East Zion, Mt Carmel and Kanab rides operate on land outside the park with panoramic views toward it. Only the in-park concessioner's rides travel the Virgin River corridor and Sand Bench Trail inside the canyon.
Is riding from Springdale worth it with kids?
Yes, with the right listing. Children 3 and up can do the hand-led Little Wrangler ride, White Mountain requires riders to be 8 or older, and the other listings do not state a minimum age. Helmets and closed-toe shoes are recommended for young riders.
