East Zion Horseback Riding: Rides Near The East Entrance

The east side of Zion is where most of the region's bookable horseback riding actually happens. Here is what rides, what it costs, where they start, and how the sunset and sunrise options differ.

Red rock mesas and ponderosa forest on the east side of Zion National Park under a wide sky

Short answer

"East Zion horseback riding centers on rides bookable from Orderville and Mount Carmel: a 1-hour slot canyon ride from $75 per person rated 4.8 across 506 reviews, a 1.5-hour evening ride from $89, and a sunrise ride from $85. Minimum ages vary by ride, from 3 on the Little Wrangler to 8 on the White Mountain tour, and several rides cap rider weight at 100 kg.

Zion National Park's east side is a different park from the canyon most visitors photograph. Past the tunnel on the Zion-Mt. Carmel Highway the cliffs open into slickrock country, ponderosa highlands and the checkerboard mesas that give one local ride its name, and that landscape is where the region's guided horseback riding concentrates. The Zion Horseback Tours comparison covers rides on every side of the park, but this page stays east: what you can book, what it costs, where the rides actually start, and which time of day earns its premium.

The short version for planners: the bookable rides on this side of the park run from $32 for a hand-led kids' loop up to $105 for a 1.5-hour canyon ride near Kanab, with the core East Zion options clustered between $75 and $103. Two operators run them, East Zion Adventures out of Orderville and Rove & Ramble out of Mount Carmel, and both are drive-to meetings rather than pickup services. Ages and weight limits vary by ride: some listings state neither, the kids ride starts at 3, and in-park rides at 7 or 10, so the numbers matter before you book.

What Is East Zion Horseback Riding?

East Zion horseback riding means guided rides that start outside the park boundary on the east side, on private and public land around Orderville and Mount Carmel, rather than inside Zion Canyon itself. The rides climb mesas, cross bison country and reach slot canyons, with views toward Zion's East Gate, the Grand Staircase and, on clear days, Bryce Canyon in the distance. Prices run from $68 to $105 per adult rider on the bookable listings. If you're staying on the west side of the park, our St George riding guide covers Snow Canyon trails and Zion day trip options.

The distinction matters more here than almost anywhere else in the region. Inside the park, the National Park Service authorizes one concessioner for guided rides along the Virgin River, and that operator is booked directly, not through any comparison site. East of the boundary, on the high plateaus between Zion and Bryce, several stables run their own guided rides on land where horses have worked for generations. That is where the listings compared on this site live, and it is where a rider staying in Orderville, Mount Carmel or the East Zion area will spend the least time driving.

The landscape rewards the detour. The east side sits several hundred feet higher than the canyon floor, which means cooler summer mornings, longer sightlines and a mix of terrain the canyon rides cannot offer: the slot canyon reached on the East Zion White Mountain ride, the bison preserve visited on the Juniper Ridge ride, and the layered sunset panorama over three park systems that the Mount Carmel rides describe in their listings. Riders report that the east-side rides feel less crowded than in-canyon alternatives, which tracks with how visitation distributes: the canyon absorbs the crowds, the east side absorbs the people who drove it once and wanted something quieter. Since all of these rides cluster near the east gate, our guide to choosing between Zion's south and east entrances explains how your entry point shapes which rides end up within easy reach.

One planning note sets expectations early: none of the east-side rides enter Zion National Park proper. The listings are explicit about that, and so are we. The Checkerboard Evening Shadow ride departs from East Zion. If riding inside the canyon along the Virgin River is the goal, that is a different product with a different operator, covered in the guide to choosing horseback riding in Zion National Park.

Which Rides Can You Book On The East Side Of Zion?

Seven bookable listings cover the east side and its neighbors: the 1-hour White Mountain slot canyon ride from $75, the 1.5-hour Checkerboard evening ride from $89, the 1-hour sunrise ride from $85, the Grandview sunset ride from $103, the Juniper Ridge bison preserve ride from $68, the Little Wrangler kids' ride from $32, and the Kanab Cave Lakes ride from $105. Ages start at 3 or 8 depending on the listing.

Two of those seven start in Orderville with East Zion Adventures and carry the region's largest review pools. The White Mountain ride, listed as a 1-Hour Ride To A Slot Canyon, is rated 4.8 across 506 reviews and includes a short hike into the slot canyon on foot after the ride in, which is a structure few canyon-country rides offer. The Checkerboard Evening Shadow ride runs about 1.5 hours, is rated 4.7 across 46 reviews, and is the region's most-reviewed sunset option. The remaining five listings run from Mount Carmel and Kanab with Rove & Ramble and Roam Outdoor Adventure Co., and current ratings and review counts sit on each live booking page.

Ride Operator Length From price Age Weight limit
White Mountain slot canyon ride East Zion Adventures ~1 hour $75 8+ 100 kg
Checkerboard evening ride East Zion Adventures ~1.5 hours $89 Not stated 100 kg
Sunrise ride Rove & Ramble ~1 hour $85 Not stated Not stated
Grandview sunset ride Rove & Ramble ~1 hour $103 Not stated Not stated
Juniper Ridge bison preserve ride Rove & Ramble ~1 hour $68 Not stated Not stated
Little Wrangler kids' ride Rove & Ramble ~15 minutes $32 3+ none stated
Cave Lakes Canyon ride Roam Outdoor Adventure Co. ~1.5 hours $105 Not stated 100 kg

The prices above are from-prices, exactly as the listings show them; the live booking pages carry the current figures. What the table hides is how different the rides feel at the same duration. The Juniper Ridge ride is the gentlest listing in the region, a loop around a working bison preserve pitched at families and first-timers. The White Mountain ride is a purpose-built slot canyon access ride. The sunrise and sunset listings sell the light, and the Cave Lakes ride near Kanab sells a green canyon bottom, terrain unusual enough in this corner of the country.

That trio is the east-side shortlist most groups land on: the slot canyon ride for the itinerary anchor, the Checkerboard evening ride for the golden-hour alternative, and the sunrise ride for the rider who would rather beat the heat than chase it. Every listing shows its own current price and cancellation terms at booking.

Where Do East Zion Rides Start And How Do You Get There?

East Zion rides are drive-to meetings, not pickup services. The Orderville rides with East Zion Adventures ask riders to park at the pickleball courts lot and walk to the corrals; the Mount Carmel rides with Rove & Ramble meet at the ranch; the Kanab ride meets at the ranch as well. Meeting details for the Checkerboard ride arrive in the booking confirmation.

The logistics are simple but worth knowing before you book a morning slot. Orderville sits on US-89 about 20 minutes north of the park's east entrance, and Mount Carmel is on the same corridor even closer to the Zion-Mt. Carmel Highway. Both are east-side bases, which is the whole point: a rider staying in Springdale faces a drive through the tunnel to reach any of these, while a rider in Orderville or Mount Carmel is minutes from the corrals. The fresh operator pages place East Zion Adventures' rides operating from the Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort property, and the operator's own tour page lists its full menu, including longer options we do not sell here: the East Zion Adventures ride listings.

Horses standing in a corral beside red rock formations on the east side of Zion

The road itself is the one variable to check on the day. The Zion-Mt. Carmel Highway is the east side's artery, and it periodically closes for rockfall or repairs; a major rockfall event closed it in late September and it reopened to through traffic in early October, with a section still awaiting permanent repair. Road status is not a riding condition, it is an arrival condition, so check the park's current conditions page the morning of a ride that requires the highway. Riders coming from the west through the tunnel should also remember that the tunnel itself has size restrictions for larger vehicles.

Arrival timing matters at the corral even when the listing does not spell it out. Guided rides run on shared schedules, horses are assigned by rider experience and comfort, and a wrangler briefing a group cannot restart for one late car. Plan to be at the meeting point well before the listed departure, dressed and watered, and the operational parts of the day take care of themselves.

Booking ahead is the norm rather than the exception on this side of the park in season, particularly for the evening and sunrise slots, which run once a day by definition. Free cancellation terms are shown on each listing at booking.

What Are The Ages And Weight Limits On East Zion Rides?

East Zion rides split by operator: East Zion Adventures listings cap rider weight at 100 kg, with a minimum age of 8 on the White Mountain tour, while the hand-led Little Wrangler ride from Rove & Ramble takes children from age 3. Rove & Ramble's other listings publish no age or weight limits, so check the live booking page before reserving. Borderline cases are settled by asking the operator, not by a promise from any website.

The age floor is the first filter for families. A group with a 6-year-old has exactly one bookable option in the region, the Little Wrangler ride, a 15-minute hand-led loop around the ranch cabins with a wrangler walking the horse the entire way, from $32. A group with a 7-year-old unlocks the three Rove & Ramble listings; an 8-year-old unlocks everything except that nothing excludes them, since 8 clears both operators' floors. Mixed groups with a child under 7 often split the party: one adult rides Juniper Ridge with the older kids while another walks the loop with the youngest.

A wrangler leading a child on horseback along a dirt trail near wooden cabins

Weight limits are welfare rules. The industry framing is straightforward: common riding guidance keeps rider weight near a fifth of what the horse carries comfortably, which is why some of these listings cap riders at 100 kg, while others publish no weight figure at all. The heavier limit on the Rove & Ramble string reflects their horses, not a looser policy. Nobody is weighed on a scale in public in most cases, but guides eyeball honestly and can decline a rider at the corral, and being declined at the corral is worse than asking first. Email the operator with an honest number and a height, and they will tell you where you stand.

Listing Minimum age Weight limit Family note
White Mountain slot canyon ride 8 100 kg Includes a short on-foot hike into the slot
Checkerboard evening ride Not stated 100 kg Evening ride
Sunrise ride Not stated Not stated Earliest start of the set
Grandview sunset ride Not stated Not stated Bison sightings possible, never promised
Juniper Ridge bison preserve ride Not stated Not stated Gentlest adult ride in the region
Little Wrangler kids' ride 3 none stated Hand-led, 15 minutes, wrangler walking
Cave Lakes Canyon ride Not stated 100 kg Longest east-side-area option at ~1.5 hours

One more age-related note that catches families planning a year ahead: minimum ages on these listings are ages on the day of the ride, not at booking. A child who turns 8 the week after your trip does not clear the White Mountain floor, and wranglers do check. The fuller decision framework, including what to do with toddlers and teenagers in the same group, is in the age limits and kids guide.

What Is The Best Time Of Day To Ride In East Zion?

The best time of day to ride in East Zion is either the sunrise slot or the evening slot: the sunrise ride from $85 gets you on the trail before summer heat builds, and the Checkerboard evening ride from $89 and the Grandview sunset ride from $103 put the region's layered mesas under golden-hour light. Midday works fine in spring and fall, and is the hardest sell in July and August.

Summer is the forcing function here. The National Park Service's own seasons page describes Zion summers as regularly over 100 degrees Fahrenheit, with the monsoon running July through September and half a million visitors a month filling parking by mid-morning. East Zion sits higher and runs cooler than the canyon floor, but a horse at 2 p.m. in August is still a horse at 2 p.m. in August. The listings answer that two ways: a sunrise departure that lists views of the Grand Staircase, Zion's East Gate and Bryce Canyon in the distance, and evening departures that trade cooler air for the day's best light.

The Checkerboard Evening Shadow ride is the evening anchor. It runs about 1.5 hours, rated 4.7 across 46 reviews, with a 100 kg limit. The Grandview sunset ride covers roughly the same clock window from Mount Carmel with a different pitch: panoramic sunset views toward Zion, Bryce Canyon and the Grand Staircase, and a chance, stated as a chance, to see bison. See the live booking page for current ratings.

The sunrise slot is the connoisseur's pick, and it is cheaper than the sunset options. The East Zion sunrise ride is listed from $85 per person for about an hour in the saddle, with riders meeting at the ranch in Mount Carmel. The trade is the alarm clock. Sunrise riders are on the trail as the light comes up over the Grand Staircase, and in summer that means an early wake-up in Springdale or a slightly later one from an east-side base, which is one more argument for sleeping on this side of the park if riding is the point of the trip.

Spring and fall change the calculus completely. Midweek in April or late October, a late-morning ride is pleasant, the light is already interesting, and the sunset premium buys less. The NPS describes fall color reaching the canyon by the end of October and early November, and the east side's higher elevations turn earlier. If your dates are flexible and your interest is photography rather than heat management, October on the east side is the strongest combination of light, temperature and thin crowds, a point developed in the sunset horseback riding guide.

Which Other Stables Operate Near The East Entrance?

Beyond the bookable lineup, two established stables operate near the east entrance: Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort, whose wranglers run the East Zion Adventures rides from the property and offer longer options including a 2-hour ride, a 3-hour cookout ride and a 7.5-hour full-day ride, and Zion Mountain Ranch, which runs 1, 2 and 4-hour tours. We do not sell those listings.

The naming confuses people, so it is worth untangling. East Zion Adventures is the outfitter whose short rides, the White Mountain slot canyon ride and the Checkerboard evening ride, are the listings compared on this site. The same outfitter's longer products, listed on its own page, are separate listings with separate prices and age floors: the 2-hour Pine Knoll ride for ages 10 and up, the 3-hour trail ride and cowboy cookout for ages 10 and up, and the 7.5-hour Casto Canyon full-day ride for ages 12 and up. Fresh operator pages also describe a 1.5-hour sunset ride with s'mores run for resort guests. None of those appear in our comparison, and none should be assumed bookable through any link on this page; the operator's page is the reference.

A wide meadow of sage and juniper below pale cliffs near the east entrance of Zion

Zion Mountain Ranch is the other east-side name, a working ranch operation running guided tours of 1, 2 or 4 hours through the mountains around the park's east side. It exists, it rides, and it is not sold here either. The practical takeaway for a reader comparing options is that the east side supports more riding infrastructure than any other corner of the region: two resort-based stables plus the Mount Carmel string whose Juniper Ridge, sunrise, Grandview and kids' listings fill out the lineup. Availability in the area is deep, in other words, even when the specific slot you wanted is full. For help sorting through all that choice, our is horseback riding in Zion actually worth it verdict compares the in-park concessioner rides with these outside-the-park stables so you can pick the right fit for your trip.

For riders whose east-side dates fill up, the nearest deep alternative is Kanab, about 40 minutes south on US-89, where the Cave Lakes Canyon ride runs about 1.5 hours through green canyon bottom from $105 per person, rated 4.9 across 122 reviews. It is covered in full in the Kanab horseback riding guide. St. George sits much further west and has no listing in this comparison; permitted operators exist there, but that is a different day trip entirely.

How Much Does East Zion Horseback Riding Cost?

East Zion horseback riding costs from $68 to $105 per adult across the bookable listings, with the flagship White Mountain slot canyon ride from $75, the sunrise ride from $85, the Checkerboard evening ride from $89 and the Grandview sunset ride from $103. The kids' hand-led ride is from $32. All figures are from-prices; the booking pages show live totals.

The honest budget math includes the extras a listing price hides. Gratuities for guides are customary and cash works best at a corral. If you are staying in Springdale, add the fuel and time of a tunnel crossing each way. A private vehicle pass into Zion runs $35 for one to seven days per the NPS fee page. And every price shown here is a from-price, the starting per-person rate for each ride. Final totals appear on the live booking page.

Listing From price Length Best for
Juniper Ridge bison preserve $68 ~1 hour Budget and families
White Mountain slot canyon $75 ~1 hour The slot canyon
Sunrise ride $85 ~1 hour Beating the heat
Checkerboard evening ride $89 ~1.5 hours Best value per hour
Grandview sunset ride $103 ~1 hour Sunset panorama
Cave Lakes Canyon ride $105 ~1.5 hours Green canyon, snacks
Little Wrangler kids' ride $32 ~15 minutes Ages 3 to 6
A table of seven East Zion rides comparing from price, ride length, minimum age and weight limit.
Seven bookable rides compared by price, length and rider limits.

Per-hour math flatters the longer rides, as it always does: the Checkerboard evening ride packs more saddle time into its from-price than any one-hour listing in the east-side core, simply because it runs half again as long. What per-hour math ignores is that a 1-hour ride plus a short slot canyon hike, the White Mountain structure, packs more variety into its hour than a steady trail loop packs into two. Budget by what the hour contains, not just how many there are.

What Should You Wear And Bring On An East Zion Ride?

Wear closed-toe shoes, long pants and layers on any East Zion ride, and bring sunscreen, a hat and more water than feels reasonable, especially for sunrise and sunset slots that start in cool air and finish warm or finish dark. Helmets are recommended on guided rides in this region, and the fresh operator guidance for rides near Zion says exactly that.

The east side's elevation swing punishes the single-layer rider. A sunrise ride in October can start near freezing and finish in short-sleeve warmth not long after it begins; an evening ride in July starts brutally hot and finishes in a cooling wind. Layers you can tie around a waist solve both. Footwear is the item riders most often get wrong: sandals and slick-soled sneakers both fail in a stirrup, and a heeled boot or a substantial trail shoe is what the wranglers actually want to see. The packing guidance published for guided rides in this region lists closed-toe shoes, comfortable outdoor clothing, sunscreen, a hat and a water bottle as the standard kit, and that list is hard to improve on.

Riding helmets and saddle bags resting on a fence rail beside a red rock trailhead

Beyond clothing, three east-side specifics are worth a sentence each. First, the slot canyon portion of the White Mountain ride involves a short hike on foot, so shoes need to walk as well as ride; the listing includes that hike among its inclusions. Second, the bison preserve rides pass near large wild-adjacent animals, and the listings are careful to say sightings are a chance, not a schedule, which is the same care riders should take with cameras and distance. Third, phone batteries die fast in cold morning air and in canyon shade, and the sunrise slot's best photographs come at the moment a dying phone chooses to quit. A charged spare or a power bank earns its pocket.

Item Why it matters on this side of the park
Closed-toe shoes with a heel or substantial sole The White Mountain ride adds a short on-foot slot canyon hike
Layers, tied or packed Sunrise starts cold and finishes warm; evenings reverse
Sunscreen and hat High-elevation sun burns through cool air and thin cloud
Water, more than feels needed Operator guidance for rides near Zion lists a water bottle as standard
Cash for the guide's gratuity Customary at the corral, and cards are not always an option
Charged phone or power bank Cold mornings and canyon shade drain batteries fast

Riders who want the full gear reasoning, including what helmets are and are not required and how the answer differs between operators, will find it in the what to wear guide. The short version for the east side: dress for a walk on a windy mesa that happens to involve a horse, and you will be right nine mornings out of ten.

Common Questions About East Zion Horseback Riding

East Zion horseback riding

East Zion horseback riding covers guided rides starting on the east side of Zion National Park, from Orderville and Mount Carmel, on land outside the park boundary. The bookable options run from $32 for a kids' hand-led loop to $105 for a 1.5-hour canyon ride near Kanab, with the core East Zion rides between $75 and $103. None of them enter Zion Canyon itself.

Zion mountain trail rides

Zion Mountain Ranch runs guided trail rides of 1, 2 or 4 hours through the mountains surrounding Zion National Park near the east entrance. It is a real, established operation, but it is not part of the comparison sold on this site. The closest bookable rides in our lineup are the Mount Carmel listings with Rove & Ramble, from $68 for the bison preserve loop.

Do East Zion rides enter Zion National Park?

No bookable ride on this site enters the park. The rides run on land around Orderville and Mount Carmel outside the boundary, with views toward Zion's East Gate, the Grand Staircase and Bryce Canyon. The Checkerboard evening ride stays east of the park.

What is the youngest age for a ride on the east side?

Age 3, on the Little Wrangler kids' ride: a 15-minute hand-led loop with a wrangler walking the horse the whole way, from $32. The Rove & Ramble listings do not state a minimum age or weight. East Zion Adventures asks that riders be 8 or older on the White Mountain tour, while the Checkerboard evening ride states no minimum age.

Is the sunrise ride or the sunset ride better in East Zion?

The sunrise ride, from $85, wins in summer because it beats the heat that the NPS describes as regularly over 100 degrees Fahrenheit in the region. The sunset options, the Checkerboard evening ride from $89 and the Grandview sunset ride from $103, win on light and on temperature in spring and fall. Both slots run once a day, so availability, not preference, often decides.

Where do you park for the East Zion Adventures rides?

The White Mountain listing directs riders to park at the pickleball courts lot in Orderville and walk to the corrals. The Checkerboard evening ride sends meeting details in the booking confirmation. The Mount Carmel and Kanab rides meet at the ranch. None of the listings offer pickup, so plan the drive before booking an early slot.