Horseback Riding Near St George: Snow Canyon Rides And Zion Day Trips
St George sits closer to rideable canyon country than most visitors realize. This guide lays out what the local Snow Canyon scene offers, what it does not, and how the Zion-area rides on this site slot into a day trip from Washington County.
Short answer
St George and Hurricane have permitted outfitters around Snow Canyon State Park, and they are the only rides genuinely local to the city. Everything else worth comparing is a drive east: the Kanab Cave Lakes canyon ride from $105 per person, the East Zion White Mountain ride from $75, and the Juniper Ridge bison preserve ride from $68, all departing within reach of a St George day trip.
St George is the biggest city in southwestern Utah, and it sits about an hour west of the riding country this site covers. That geography shapes every decision on this page. The city has its own small scene of permitted trail-ride outfitters around Snow Canyon State Park and the Hurricane cliffs, and those are the rides you can reach in twenty minutes from a hotel in Washington or Ivins. But the rides this site compares and links, the East Zion White Mountain slot canyon ride, the Kanab Cave Lakes canyon ride, and the Juniper Ridge bison preserve ride, all depart from ranches east of the city, and each of them is a realistic day trip from St George rather than a local outing.
The honest framing, based on what the listings and operator pages state: St George itself does not have an in-park concessioner ride. Zion National Park's guided rides run from inside Zion Canyon, well over an hour away, and the rides we compare on this site run from private ranch land near Mt Carmel, Orderville and Kanab. So the real question for a rider based in St George is whether to book the local Snow Canyon area outfitters or drive east for the bigger canyon scenery. This guide walks both paths, with prices, age and weight limits, and the logistics that decide it.
Where Can You Go Horseback Riding Around St George Utah?
The local options are two permitted outfitters working the Snow Canyon and Hurricane area, Snow Canyon Trail Rides and Dixie Trail Rides, both offering guided rides of roughly two to three hours, plus longer rides farther east at ranches near Zion's east side and Kanab. Snow Canyon rides stay in red rock country close to the city; the Zion-area rides put you in bigger canyon terrain after a drive. Neither enters Zion Canyon itself.

The St George riding scene clusters around Snow Canyon State Park, the lava-flow and red-rock park sandwiched between Ivins and Hurricane. Permitted outfitters there, including Snow Canyon Trail Rides and Dixie Trail Rides, run guided rides of roughly two to three hours across the dunes and basalt shelves at the park's edge. Their seasons, prices and limits live on their own pages and shift year to year, so treat those pages as the authority rather than any summary, ours included. What the local rides offer is convenience: you can be in the saddle twenty minutes after leaving a St George hotel, without driving SR-9 or dealing with park entrance logistics.
What the local scene does not offer is the canyon-bottom and rim-country riding that draws most visitors to this corner of Utah. There is no Virgin River corridor ride, no ride into a slot canyon, and no in-park concessioner operating out of St George. The National Park Service states that the only guided rides inside Zion National Park are run by its authorized concessioner from Zion Canyon, an hour-plus east. For that scenery from a St George base, the realistic move is a day trip, and the listings this site compares sit at the practical end of that drive: ranches around Mt Carmel and Orderville on the park's east side, and the Cave Lakes Canyon ranch outside Kanab.
The comparison matters because the rides are genuinely different products. A Snow Canyon area ride is a desert ride: dunes, black rock, and wide views of the Pine Valley Mountains. The East Zion White Mountain ride, by contrast, pairs its hour in the saddle with a short guided hike into a slot canyon, and it is the most reviewed ride on our lineup, rated 4.8 across 506 reviews, from $75 per person. The Juniper Ridge bison preserve ride, from $68, rides the fence line of a bison preserve with distant views toward Bryce Canyon. If your heart is set on canyon country, the drive east buys you scenery the local rides cannot match.
| Ride area | Base from St George | Terrain | Booking route |
|---|---|---|---|
| Snow Canyon / Hurricane | Local, minutes away | Dunes, lava flows, red rock | Direct with the local outfitters, not sold here |
| Zion Canyon (concessioner) | Over an hour east | Virgin River corridor, Sand Bench | With the concessioner directly, not sold here |
| Mt Carmel ranches | About an hour east | Panoramas, bison preserve, Grand Staircase | The listings this site compares |
| Orderville / East Zion | Roughly 75 minutes east | White Mountain, slot canyon | The listings this site compares |
| Kanab (Cave Lakes) | An hour and a half east | Green canyon, cave lakes | The listings this site compares |
Our guide to riding inside versus outside the park unpacks the concessioner-versus-ranch distinction in more depth, including why the outside-park rides tend to be easier to book on short notice.
How Far Is St George From The Zion Riding Country?
Plan on an hour to the Mt Carmel ranches, about 75 minutes to Orderville in East Zion, and roughly an hour and a half to the Kanab ranch, driving your own vehicle, with no pickup offered on any ride we compare. Every one of these listings is a meet-at-the-ranch or meet-at-the-corral arrangement, so the drive is part of the day. The drive itself crosses some of the same scenery you ride through.
The route from St George to all three riding areas is the same for the first stretch: I-15 north to Hurricane, then State Route 9 east through Springdale and Zion National Park, or the southern loop via Fredonia for Kanab. Because SR-9 passes through the park, the NPS is explicit that anyone driving it, even just passing through, needs a recreational entrance pass. The NPS fees page lists a private vehicle pass at $35, valid one to seven days, so a St George day trip that crosses the park budget for that unless you hold an annual pass. Riders heading to the Kanab ranch via Fredonia can avoid the fee entirely by staying south of the park boundary.

Timing matters more than distance. The Mt Carmel and Orderville rides are short, about an hour to 90 minutes in the saddle, so a St George rider can leave mid-morning, ride in the early afternoon, and be back for dinner. The sunrise listings flip that equation: the Rove and Ramble sunrise ride from $85 departs at dawn, which means leaving St George in the dark to reach the ranch on time. Weight the alarm clock honestly when you pick a departure. None of the rides we compare offers hotel pickup, so a rental car or your own vehicle is a hard requirement.
One practical note on park transit: during shuttle season, private vehicles cannot drive Zion Canyon Scenic Drive, but SR-9 through the park, including the Zion-Mt. Carmel Highway and its tunnel, stays open to through traffic. The ranches we compare are all reached on public roads outside the shuttle system, so the shuttle does not affect your ride logistics. Our shuttle guide for horseback riders covers the schedule if your day trip also includes a stop inside the canyon.
Here is where the rides this site compares slot into that drive.
Which Rides Near Zion Best Fit A Rider Based In St George?
The Juniper Ridge bison preserve ride is the shortest drive and the lowest from-price of the hour-long rides, from $68 per person. The White Mountain slot canyon ride adds the dismount-and-hike element, from $75, ages 8 and up. The Kanab Cave Lakes ride is the longest and priciest at about 1.5 hours from $105, rated 4.9 across 122 reviews.
Each of the three serves a different St George itinerary. The Juniper Ridge ride is the easiest add-on: an hour in the saddle around a bison preserve, with the listing promising panoramic views of Zion National Park and the Grand Staircase and distant views toward Bryce Canyon. Bison sightings are a chance, never a promise, and the listing says so in its own way by listing a preserve visit rather than a sighting. For a family with children as young as 7, it is the cheapest full trail ride on the lineup.

The White Mountain ride is the one to pick if the point of the drive is a canyon. The listing includes a short guided hike into a slot canyon after the ride, which no Snow Canyon area operator offers, and it carries the deepest review pool we track: 4.8 across 506 reviews. It departs from East Zion near Orderville, with parking at the pickleball courts lot and a short walk to the corrals, a detail worth knowing because the meeting spot is not the obvious one. Ages 8 and up, weight limit 100 kg.
The Kanab Cave Lakes ride is the commitment pick. It runs about 1.5 hours through a greener, narrower canyon near Kanab and holds a 4.9 rating across 122 reviews, the highest rating on the lineup with a real pool behind it. Ages 8 and up, weight limit 100 kg, meet at the ranch. From St George it is the longest drive of the three, so most riders pair it with a Kanab day rather than rushing out and back.
There are two more listings worth knowing about even though they are outside this article's trio. The Checkerboard evening ride, from $89 in Orderville, is a 1.5-hour sunset ride rated 4.7 across 46 reviews. And for the youngest riders, the Little Wrangler kids' ride, from $32 for 15 minutes, is a hand-led loop for children as young as 3, the kind of thing that turns a sibling's ride into a whole-family stop at the Mt Carmel ranch.
| Ride | Drive from St George | Duration | From price | Ages | Weight limit |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Juniper Ridge bison preserve | About an hour | 1 hour | $68 | Not stated | Not stated |
| White Mountain slot canyon | About 75 minutes | 1 hour | $75 | 8+ | 100 kg |
| Checkerboard evening ride | About 75 minutes | 1.5 hours | $89 | Not stated | 100 kg |
| Kanab Cave Lakes canyon | An hour and a half | 1.5 hours | $105 | Not stated | 100 kg |
| Little Wrangler kids' ride | About an hour | 15 minutes | $32 | 3+ | None stated |
When Is The Best Time Of Year To Ride From St George?
Spring and fall are the sweet spot for the whole region: the NPS describes summer temperatures in Zion as regularly over 100°F, with a monsoon flash-flood season running July through September, while the in-park concessioner rides only from mid-March through October 31. A St George base in April, May, late September or October gets you rideable mornings and canyon light without the heat.
St George itself is one of the hottest towns in Utah, and the riding country to the east sits higher and runs a few degrees cooler, which is another quiet argument for the drive. The NPS seasons page is blunt about summer: temperatures regularly over 100°F, parking often full by 9 a.m., and roughly half a million visitors a month in the park. The ranch rides outside the park dodge the parking crunch, but they do not dodge the heat. Book the earliest departure you can in summer, which is exactly what the sunrise ride, from $85, is built around. Its listing leads with beating the heat, sunrise over the Grand Staircase, and views toward Zion's East Gate.

Fall is the strongest season all around. The NPS notes that fall color starts at higher elevations and reaches Zion Canyon by the end of October and early November, and the region cools into riding weather just as the in-park concessioner season closes on October 31, weather depending. For a St George rider that means October delivers the best of both scenes: local Snow Canyon rides in the cool, and canyon-country rides east with color on the higher slopes. Winter riding is thin locally but not nonexistent; the ranches we compare list winter availability only through their live listings, and the park itself stays open 24 hours a day, year-round, per the NPS hours page.
Weather cuts both ways, and the rules are worth respecting. The NPS prohibits stock use on park trails during spring thaws and unusually wet periods, and slot canyons in the region close when flash-flood risk rises, so a wet week can reshape options even for rides on private land. Never assume conditions; the operator's listing and the NPS conditions page are the live authorities. Our best time for horseback riding in Zion guide works through the calendar month by month.
What Do The St George Area Rides Cost Compared With Zion Rides?
Lineup prices run from $32 for the 15-minute Little Wrangler kids' ride to $105 for the 1.5-hour Kanab canyon ride, with the one-hour adult rides clustered between $68 and $103. The in-park concessioner's rides, booked directly and not sold here, are stated by the operator at $60 for the one-hour Virgin River ride and $125 for the three-hour Sand Bench ride. Local Snow Canyon outfitters price their own rides on their own pages.
The price ladder is honest and fairly tight. For a St George family, the practical comparison is the total day cost: a Snow Canyon ride saves the drive and the $35 park vehicle pass, while a Mt Carmel or Kanab ride spends both and returns bigger scenery. The Checkerboard evening ride runs an hour and a half, from $89 per person.

Price alone is a poor selector, though, because the listings bundle different things. The White Mountain price includes the slot canyon hike. The Kanab ride is the priciest, from $105. Juniper Ridge is listed from $68 per person and Grandview from $103, and the live booking page is always the authority on what today's price is. Ratings tell another part of the story: 4.8 across 506 reviews for White Mountain, 4.9 across 122 for Kanab, 4.7 across 46 for Checkerboard. Our full Zion horseback riding prices guide breaks down every line item, including tipping and the park pass.
| Cost line | Snow Canyon local ride | Mt Carmel / East Zion rides | Kanab ride |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ride price | Set by the local outfitter | From $68 to $89 | From $105 |
| Park entrance | None | $35 vehicle pass if driving SR-9 | Avoidable via Fredonia route |
| Food or extras | Not stated | Slot canyon hike on White Mountain | Not stated |
| Guide gratuity | Customary, cash | Customary, cash | Customary, cash |
Tipping deserves one plain sentence: cash gratuity for the guide is the standing custom on guided rides across the region, and it is not included in any listing price we track.
How Do Age And Weight Limits Differ Across These Rides?
The White Mountain tour in Orderville takes riders from age 8, the Checkerboard, Kanab and White Mountain rides carry a 100 kg rider weight limit, and the Little Wrangler hand-led ride takes children from age 3 with no weight limit stated. The in-park concessioner states age 7 for its one-hour ride, age 10 for the three-hour, and a 220 lb limit on both.
These limits are listing- and operator-stated, and they are the single most common booking snag, so read them before you fall in love with a ride. Not every listing states a rider weight limit, so anyone near a stated cap, such as 100 kg on several rides, should ask the operator rather than assume. Operators weigh borderline cases at check-in more often than riders expect, and our page on whether riders get weighed before horseback riding covers the practice honestly.
For St George families the age floor is the deciding line. A six-year-old can ride at Mt Carmel but not in Orderville or Kanab. A three-year-old can only do the hand-led Little Wrangler loop, which is precisely what it exists for: 15 minutes, a wrangler on foot leading the horse, a scenic loop around the cabins, from $32. It is not a trail ride and does not pretend to be one. The deeper comparison, including which rides true beginners handle best, lives in our age limits and kids guide.
| Ride | Minimum age | Weight limit | Notes for families |
|---|---|---|---|
| Little Wrangler | 3 | None stated | Hand-led, 15 minutes |
| Juniper Ridge | Not stated | Not stated | Gentle loop around a bison preserve |
| Sunrise / Grandview | Not stated | Not stated | Timed departures, plan the drive |
| White Mountain | 8 | 100 kg | Includes short slot canyon hike |
| Checkerboard evening | Not stated | 100 kg | 1.5 hours, later finish |
| Kanab Cave Lakes | Not stated | 100 kg | 1.5 hours, food included |
Should You Book A Local Snow Canyon Ride Or Drive To Zion Riding Country?
Book local if your St George time is short, your party includes an adult who does not want a long drive, or the calendar is too hot or cold for comfort on the road. Drive east if the canyon scenery is the reason you came to Utah, or if you want the slot canyon hike, the bison preserve or the highest-rated ride on the lineup. Plenty of trips do both.
The decision usually resolves itself on the calendar and the company. A two-night St George weekend with small children points at the local outfitters plus, if the drive appeals, the Little Wrangler loop or the Juniper Ridge preserve ride at Mt Carmel, both of which take riders from a younger age than the canyon rides. A week-long trip built around Zion points east: the White Mountain ride stacks a horseback hour with a slot canyon walk in a single morning, and the Kanab Cave Lakes ride is the strongest single experience on the lineup by rating, 4.9 across 122 reviews.
Do not overlook the evening options on an east-side day. The Grandview sunset ride, from $103, rides the golden hour with panoramas toward Zion, Bryce Canyon and the Grand Staircase, and a chance of bison on the range it crosses. The Checkerboard evening ride from $89 runs 1.5 hours in Orderville's evening shadow. Both turn the drive home into a night run on SR-9, which some drivers prefer to avoid, but the light at that hour is what those listings are selling.
Whichever way you lean, the rides sold on this site are the outside-park listings near the east side of Zion and in Kanab; the in-park concessioner rides are booked directly with the operator, and the St George area outfitters are booked with those businesses directly. Nothing on this page enters Zion Canyon on horseback. Our overall how to choose horseback riding in Zion guide walks the full decision if you want the whole field in one place, and Zion Horseback Tours keeps a live comparison of every ride we track.
Here are the three rides this site compares, one more look before you decide.
The Kanab canyon ride suits riders who want the longest saddle time and the top rating in the set.
The White Mountain ride is the pick for canyon lovers who want to walk into a slot canyon after the ride.
And the Juniper Ridge ride is the shortest, cheapest full trail ride, built for families and first-timers.
Common Questions About Horseback Riding Near St George
Is there horseback riding in St George Utah itself?
Yes, through permitted outfitters working the Snow Canyon and Hurricane area, offering guided rides of roughly two to three hours close to the city. Those businesses are booked directly and are not part of the lineup this site compares. For canyon-country riding, the listings we compare depart from ranches near Mt Carmel, Orderville and Kanab, all within a day trip of St George.
How far is Zion horseback riding from St George?
Roughly an hour to the Mt Carmel ranches, about 75 minutes to Orderville in East Zion, and around an hour and a half to the Kanab ranch. Every ride we compare is a meet-at-the-ranch arrangement with no pickup, so plan on driving your own vehicle and budgeting time to arrive before the departure.
Do I need to pay the Zion entrance fee for a horseback ride near St George?
Only if your drive crosses the park. The route from St George to Mt Carmel and Orderville uses SR-9 through Zion, and the NPS states that anyone entering the park, even just passing through, needs a pass, listed at $35 for a private vehicle. The Kanab ranch can be reached via Fredonia without entering the park.
Which ride near Zion is best for kids from a St George base?
Children from age 3 can do the Little Wrangler hand-led loop, from $32 for 15 minutes at the Mt Carmel ranch. Riders can join the Juniper Ridge bison preserve ride, from $68, and the other Mt Carmel listings. Among the Orderville, East Zion and Kanab rides, only White Mountain states a minimum age: 8.
Are the St George area rides or the Zion rides better value?
The rides this site compares run from $68 for a one-hour trail ride to $105 for the 1.5-hour Kanab canyon ride, with the highest-rated option at 4.9 across 122 reviews. Local Snow Canyon rides are priced by those outfitters directly. Value depends on what the drive is worth to you: the east-side rides bundle in canyon scenery, a slot canyon hike or a bison preserve visit that the local terrain does not offer.
When is the best month to ride from St George?
April, May, late September and October, when temperatures are rideable and the region avoids the summer heat the NPS describes as regularly over 100°F. October adds fall color at the higher elevations around the riding country. The in-park concessioner rides run mid-March through October 31, while the ranch rides we compare list availability on their live listings year-round.