Horseback Riding Near Zion National Park: Inside The Park Or Outside

Two different rides share the name horseback riding near Zion National Park: a mule ride along the Virgin River booked through the park concessioner, and ranch rides on the east side and near Kanab. Here is how they compare.

Horseback riders on a sandstone ridge above a wide desert valley near Zion

Short answer

"Inside the park, Canyon Trail Rides offers a 1-hour Virgin River ride from $60 and a 3-hour Sand Bench ride from $125, ages 7 and 10 plus, March to October. Outside the park, ranch rides run from $32 to $105 per person, with some listings setting a minimum age of 3 to 8 or a 100 kg weight cap.

The ride most people picture when they imagine horseback riding near Zion National Park, a string of horses on the canyon floor beside the Virgin River, exists, but it is only one of two distinct products sold around this park. Inside the boundary, a single National Park Service concessioner runs guided horse and mule rides along the river and up the Sand Bench Trail. Outside the boundary, a set of ranch operators in Orderville, Mount Carmel and Kanab run their own trail rides across the east-side high desert, and those are the rides this site compares and links to. The two experiences differ in scenery, price, season, rider limits and how you physically get to the starting point, and the choice between them shapes the whole day around it. If you already have a rough sense of which style of ride fits your group, our straight answer on whether Zion horseback riding is worth the money weighs the in-park concessioner against the east-side and Kanab ranches for different kinds of travellers.

The in-park side is fixed by the National Park Service. Canyon Trail Rides is the authorized concessioner, and its season, prices and limits come from its operator page: a 1-hour Virgin River ride from $60 per person, ages 7 and up, and a 3-hour Sand Bench Trail ride from $125 per person, ages 10 and up, both with a 220 lb weight limit, running roughly mid-March through October 31 depending on weather. The outside-park side is more varied: the seven listings this site tracks run from $32 for a 15-minute hand-led kids' ride to $105 for a 1.5-hour canyon ride near Kanab. The booking page is the authority on all live prices.

What Does Riding Inside Zion National Park Actually Look Like?

Riding inside the park means one concessioner, two routes and a hard season: Canyon Trail Rides runs a 1-hour Virgin River ride from $60 per person and a 3-hour Sand Bench ride from $125 per person, ages 7 and 10 plus, with a 220 lb weight limit, typically mid-March through October 31. The 1-hour route follows the Virgin River about one mile to the Court of the Patriarchs and back to the loading corral, with departures at 9:30 am, 11:00 am, 2:00 pm and 3:30 pm as the operator states them. The 3-hour route ascends the Sand Bench Trail, departing at 9:00 am and 1:30 pm. Check-in is at the Emerald Pool trailhead parking lot across the street from Zion Lodge, 30 minutes before the ride.

Horses standing in a shaded corral beside tall sandstone canyon walls

Two practical points follow from that check-in location, and they are the ones riders most often miss. First, during shuttle season private vehicles cannot drive the Zion Canyon Scenic Drive, so riders arriving without a lodge reservation generally reach the Zion Lodge area by shuttle; the National Park Service page on the shuttle system describes the two lines and their frequency, and it is worth confirming the stop with the operator at booking. Second, an entrance pass is still required: the NPS fees page states plainly that if you enter Zion, even just to pass through, you need a recreational use pass, and a private vehicle pass runs $35, valid 1 to 7 days. Guests of a ride that starts inside the park still need that pass for their own vehicle.

The concessioner's rules also carry a 24-hour cancellation window for a refund of the ride cost, with online booking fees non-refundable, as the operator states them. Guides assign horses or mules to riders based on experience and comfort level, and cash tipping of the guide is recommended. Recent 2026 reviews describe the rides as a highlight of trips to Zion, praising the guides and the safety setup for first-time riders, which matters if nobody in your group has sat on a horse before.

For the full detail on those two routes, see the in-park concessioner ride breakdown and the Virgin River ride profile.

What Changes When You Ride Outside The Park?

Outside-park rides trade the canyon floor for the east-side high desert: seven ranch listings run from $32 to $105 per person, depart from Orderville, Mount Carmel and Kanab, and need no park pass, no shuttle and no canyon traffic. The scenery changes character rather than quality. Instead of enclosed sandstone walls, the east-side rides move across open mesa country with long sightlines: the Rove and Ramble listings describe panoramic views of Zion's East Gate, the Grand Staircase and, in the distance, Bryce Canyon. The East Zion Adventures White Mountain ride includes a short hike into a slot canyon, rated 4.8 across 506 reviews, the most reviewed listing on this site's lineup.

Getting there is simpler than the in-park logistics. The East Zion Adventures rides depart from the east side, where riders park at the pickleball courts lot and walk to the corrals; the Rove and Ramble and Kanab operators all use a meet-at-the-ranch model with no pickup. None of these rides require the $35 park entrance pass, because none of them enter the park. One evening option from the lineup: the Checkerboard Evening Shadow ride.

A guided line of horses crossing open sagebrush mesa country

The outside rides also spread across dayparts the in-park rides do not fully cover. Sunrise and sunset are real products here, not improvisations: the Rove and Ramble sunrise ride from $85 is built around cooler morning air and views of the Grand Staircase, and the Grandview sunset ride from $103 rides the golden hour past a bison preserve, with the listing careful to describe bison as a chance, never a promise. The Kanab Cave Lakes Canyon ride, rated 4.9 across 122 reviews, covers a 1.5-hour green-canyon route.

Three listings show what the outside-park side does best. The White Mountain ride pairs a 1-hour ride with a walk into a slot canyon, which is the closest thing to the classic narrow-wall Zion experience available without entering the park. The Checkerboard evening ride, from $89 and about 1.5 hours, is the sunset counterpart from the same operator. The Kanab Cave Lakes ride, from $105, is the pick for riders based farther south.

Which Side Wins On Price, Weight Limits And Age?

On price the outside rides bracket the in-park ones: from $32 for the kids' hand-led ride to $105 for the Kanab canyon ride, against $60 and $125 inside the park; weight limits split at 220 lbs in-park and 100 kg on the East Zion Adventures and Kanab listings, with no weight published on the Rove and Ramble rides. Minimum ages run 7 and 10 inside the park, 8 on the White Mountain tour, and 3 for the 15-minute Little Wrangler hand-led ride; the remaining outside listings publish no minimum age.

Ride Where Length Price Min age Weight limit
Virgin River Ride (Canyon Trail Rides) Inside the park 1 hour from $60 7 220 lbs
Sand Bench Trail (Canyon Trail Rides) Inside the park 3 hours from $125 10 220 lbs
White Mountain ride (East Zion Adventures) East Zion, Orderville ~1 hour from $75 8 100 kg
Checkerboard Evening Shadow (East Zion Adventures) East Zion, Orderville ~1.5 hours from $89 Not stated 100 kg
Sunrise ride (Rove and Ramble) Mount Carmel ~1 hour from $85 Not stated Not stated
Grandview sunset ride (Rove and Ramble) Mount Carmel ~1 hour from $103 Not stated Not stated
Juniper Ridge bison preserve ride (Rove and Ramble) Mount Carmel ~1 hour from $68 Not stated Not stated
Little Wrangler kids' ride (Rove and Ramble) Mount Carmel ~15 minutes from $32 3 none stated
Cave Lakes Canyon ride (Roam Outdoor Adventure Co.) Kanab ~1.5 hours from $105 Not stated 100 kg
A wrangler leading a child on a quiet horse along a ranch fence line

Read the weight column carefully, because it is where borderline riders get turned away. The 220 lb in-park limit is about 100 kg, the same effective ceiling as the East Zion Adventures and Kanab listings; the Rove and Ramble rides publish no rider weight figure, so heavier riders should confirm details on the live booking page. For anyone near a limit, ask the operator before booking rather than assuming; no operator promises acceptance, and a common horse-welfare guideline cited in riding circles suggests a rider should be well within roughly 20 percent of the animal's weight, though that is general guidance, not an NPS or operator rule. The full breakdown lives in the rider weight limits guide.

Age cuts the other way. Families with children under 7 have essentially one option per operator: the Little Wrangler hand-led ride from $32 takes riders from age 3 on a 15-minute loop wrangler-led around the ranch cabins. The in-park concessioner and the East Zion Adventures rides all start at 7 or 8. Families choosing between the systems may find the outside-park answer already made for them, and the age limits and kids guide works through the combinations.

The Juniper Ridge bison preserve ride, from $68, is the value pick on the outside lineup for a family of riders, while the Little Wrangler listing covers the youngest riders.

How Do Crowds, Shuttle Rules And The Season Differ?

Inside the park the ride season runs roughly mid-March through October 31 and the shuttle governs access; outside the park the listings need no shuttle and dodge a canyon that draws about half a million visitors a month in summer. The National Park Service describes summer as the busiest season, with parking often full by 9 am, and the monsoon from July through September bringing flash flood risk. The NPS seasons page states those figures directly. Riding inside the park in July means sharing the corridor with that crowd, arriving early, and taking the shuttle to check-in.

The outside rides sidestep nearly all of it. The corrals sit 20 to 40 minutes from the canyon by road, parking is a ranch lot, and the sunrise ride exists precisely because morning is cooler and quieter than midday. One route note: the Zion-Mount Carmel Highway, the road that connects the east-side ranches to the canyon, is the park's east-west link and stays open to vehicles year-round even during shuttle season, though rockfall and repair work close sections occasionally; check the NPS conditions page before driving it.

A horse trail winding through juniper and pinyon toward distant pink cliffs

Seasonality is the sharpest contrast of all. The in-park concessioner's season ends October 31; riders visiting in November, December or January who still want to ride have to look outside the park, where the ranch listings keep operating on their own schedules. The trade in winter is cold mornings, which the layering advice in the what-to-wear guide covers. The reverse trade is scenery: nothing on the east-side mesa equals the enclosed walls of Zion Canyon, which is exactly why the in-park rides sell out through the season despite the logistics.

Factor Inside the park Outside the park
Season Mid-March to October 31, weather permitting Ranch schedules, listings available year-round
Getting to the start Shuttle or lodge access to Emerald Pool check-in Park at the ranch or corrals, no shuttle
Park pass Required, $35 per private vehicle Not required
Scenery Virgin River corridor, Court of the Patriarchs, Sand Bench Mesa country, Grand Staircase, distant Bryce, slot canyon hike
Crowds Peak-season canyon congestion Ranch-based, small groups
Dayparts Fixed departures 9:00 am to 3:30 pm Includes sunrise and sunset rides

The Juniper Ridge ride around the bison preserve is the clearest example of what the outside system offers that the inside one cannot: a gentle hour on open range, from $68, with a chance of seeing bison from horseback. The preserve visit is an inclusion on the listing; the sighting is described as a chance, and no operator promises wildlife.

Which Ride Should You Book For Your Trip?

Book inside the park if the canyon floor itself is the point and you are visiting between mid-March and October 31; book an outside ride if you want sunrise or sunset, a heavier rider or a child under 7 needs a place, you are visiting off-season, or you want to skip the shuttle entirely. That single paragraph resolves most decisions, and the rest is matching a specific listing to your base. Staying in Springdale or the canyon corridor makes the concessioner's check-in workable and the east-side corrals a scenic drive away. Staying in Mount Carmel, Orderville or Kanab reverses the math completely.

Table comparing eight Zion area horseback rides by ride length, starting price, minimum rider age, and rider weight limit.
Outside-park rides run from $32 to $105; in-park rides cost $60 and $125.
Riders pausing at a sandstone overlook in low evening light

Consider a worked example. A couple visiting in June, based in Springdale, both experienced riders under 220 lbs, wants the classic canyon memory: the 3-hour Sand Bench ride at 9:00 am is the fit, booked with the concessioner directly, since that ride is not sold on this site. The same couple visiting in November, or with a 5-year-old and a rider above the in-park weight ceiling in the group, lands on the outside lineup: the White Mountain slot canyon ride for the adults at from $75, with its 100 kg limit, and the Little Wrangler ride for the child at from $32, open to riders from age 3. The NPS horseback riding page is the source to confirm the in-park side before booking.

Where you sleep is the quiet variable in the whole decision, and it deserves its own map. A base in Springdale puts the concessioner's check-in closest but leaves every ranch ride a drive across the tunnel or around the plateau. A base on the east side, in Orderville or Mount Carmel, puts four of the seven tracked listings within a short drive and makes the sunrise departures practical rather than heroic. Kanab sits far enough south that the east-side corrals and the Cave Lakes ride are both reasonable, while the in-park check-in becomes a full expedition. The routing table below matches each base to its natural picks.

Your base Closest in-park option Closest outside listings Practical note
Springdale / canyon corridor Both concessioner rides East Zion Adventures pair, 45 min east via SR-9 Shuttle access to Emerald Pool check-in in season
Orderville / Mount Carmel Both, 30 to 45 min west via SR-9 White Mountain, Checkerboard, all four Rove and Ramble rides Ranch lots, no shuttle, no park pass needed for outside rides
Kanab Both, about an hour northwest Cave Lakes Canyon ride with Roam Outdoor Adventure Co. -
St. George / Hurricane Both, about 90 minutes east No tracked listings this far west; route east to the park or to Kanab See the St. George riding guide for the honest picture

A third case is the photographer or the heat-averse rider. Summer afternoons in Zion regularly top 100°F, which the NPS states plainly, and a 3:30 pm canyon ride sits inside the hottest hours. The sunrise ride from $85 and the Checkerboard evening ride from $89 move riding into the edges of the day, and both list panoramic views among their inclusions. That daypart flexibility is something the in-park departure grid simply does not offer.

The Grandview sunset ride, from $103 and about an hour, is built for exactly that decision: golden-hour light across views the listing describes as spanning Zion, Bryce Canyon and the Grand Staircase, with a chance of bison along the way. Judge the listing on its route and price.

For readers based in or routing through Kanab, the Cave Lakes Canyon ride, 1.5 hours from $105 and rated 4.9 across 122 reviews, is the strongest-rated listing this site tracks. It is a different canyon system altogether, greener and quieter than Zion's main corridor.

Wherever you land, this Zion Horseback Tours comparison exists because the two systems rarely explain each other: the concessioner's page does not mention the ranch rides, and the ranch listings do not mention the concessioner. Riders who check both end up with the ride that fits their dates, their party and their knees.

Common Questions About Riding Inside Or Outside Zion

Horseback riding near Zion National Park

Riding near Zion splits into two products: guided rides inside the park with the NPS concessioner Canyon Trail Rides (1 hour from $60, 3 hours from $125, mid-March to October 31), and ranch rides outside the park in Orderville, Mount Carmel and Kanab (from $32 to $105, listed year-round on ranch schedules). The in-park rides need a park pass and, in shuttle season, shuttle access to check-in; the outside rides need neither.

Is horseback riding inside Zion National Park better than outside?

Neither is better; they are different rides. Inside offers the enclosed canyon walls and the Virgin River corridor the park is famous for, on fixed departures in a set season. Outside offers open mesa scenery, sunrise and sunset departures, looser weight limits, lower minimum ages and year-round listing availability. Riders who want the iconic canyon floor book inside; riders who want flexibility or travel off-season book outside.

Do you need a park pass to go horseback riding near Zion?

Only for rides that start inside the park. The NPS states that anyone entering Zion, even just passing through, needs a recreational use pass; a private vehicle pass is $35, valid 1 to 7 days. The outside-park rides in Orderville, Mount Carmel and Kanab do not enter the park, so no pass is required for them.

Can you ride horses in Zion in winter?

Not with the park concessioner: its season typically runs mid-March through October 31. The outside-park ranch listings operate on their own schedules and are the winter option, with cold mornings making the layering advice in the what-to-wear guide relevant. Confirm winter departure times on the live listing before planning around one.

Which side has looser weight limits?

The outside ranches. The in-park concessioner states a 220 lb limit, about 100 kg. The East Zion Adventures and Kanab listings state 100 kg, while the Rove and Ramble rides at Mount Carmel do not state a weight limit, leaving 100 kg the highest stated figure among the tracked listings. The Little Wrangler kids' ride lists no weight limit. Ask the operator directly for borderline cases; none of them promises acceptance.

Is the in-park horseback ride worth the shuttle logistics?

For many riders, yes: recent 2026 reviews describe the concessioner's rides as a trip highlight, with check-in 30 minutes early at the Emerald Pool trailhead lot across from Zion Lodge. But the logistics are real, an entrance pass, shuttle access during shuttle season, fixed departure times, so riders who value simplicity often choose an east-side or Kanab ranch ride instead and drive the Zion-Mount Carmel Highway on their own schedule.