Horseback Riding In Zion National Park: How To Choose The Right Ride

The park itself offers one concessioner with two ride lengths, while a ring of outside-park stables near the east side, Mt Carmel and Kanab covers everything from a 15-minute hand-led kids loop to a bison preserve ride. Here is how to pick between them.

Red rock canyon walls rising above a sandy trail with scrub vegetation in morning light

Short answer

"Inside Zion National Park, the concessioner Canyon Trail Rides runs a 1-hour Virgin River ride from $60 (age 7+) and a 3-hour Sand Bench ride from $125 (age 10+), roughly mid-March through October. Outside the park, seven listings run from $32 for a kids' hand-led ride to $105 for a Kanab canyon ride, and several of them cap rider weight at 100 kg.

Horseback riding in Zion National Park comes in two flavors that never overlap: rides booked with the park's authorized concessioner on the canyon floor, and rides at the stables scattered across the high country east of the tunnel, down toward Mt Carmel, and out around Kanab. The park's own horseback riding page keeps the distinction plain: a concessioner offers guided trail rides along the Virgin River, and personal stock use is allowed on designated trails, and that is the whole of the in-park picture. Everything else happens on private land or state land within sight of the park.

That split is the first decision you make, and everything else, price, length, age minimums, weight limits, even what you wear, flows from it. This guide walks through the choice in the order a real trip planner faces it: where you can actually ride, what the in-park and outside-park options give you for the money, which listing matches your length and scenery preference, and how the logistics of getting to a corral differ from catching a shuttle in the canyon. The East Zion White Mountain slot canyon ride from East Zion Adventures anchors the outside-park side of the comparison, at 4.8 across 506 reviews the most reviewed listing near the park, but the full lineup runs from a $32 kids' loop to a $105 canyon ride near Kanab.

Where Can You Go Horseback Riding In Zion National Park?

Horseback riding inside Zion National Park means the concessioner's two guided rides, a 1-hour Virgin River ride and a 3-hour Sand Bench Trail ride, both departing near Zion Lodge between roughly mid-March and October 31. The National Park Service states that guided rides typically begin mid-March and run through October 31st, weather permitting, and that only horses, mules and burros count as stock in the park. If the concessioner's schedule or ride lengths don't suit your plans, our guide to horseback riding out of Springdale covers stable options just outside the park that can fill the gap.

The concessioner, Canyon Trail Rides, holds the exclusive commercial permit for the canyon floor. Its 1-hour Virgin River ride follows the river about one mile to the Court of the Patriarchs and back, and its 3-hour ride climbs the Sand Bench Trail, which doubles as the commercial horse trail from March to October. The operator's page lists the 1-hour trip at $60 per person with departures at 9:30 am, 11:00 am, 2:00 pm and 3:30 pm, and the 3-hour trip at $125 with departures at 9:00 am and 1:30 pm. The booking page is the authority on prices and times.

Personal stock is a different route entirely. No permit is needed for day trips, but the NPS wilderness regulations restrict stock to a listed set of trails, cap any party at six saddle or pack animals, require weed-free feed, and prohibit stock during spring thaws, unusually wet periods, or whenever use would cause undue trail damage. One wrinkle worth knowing: the Sand Bench Trail, the concessioner's summer route, is open to public and personal stock use from November 1 to March 1 only, so the guided season and the private season on that trail deliberately trade places. Riders hauling their own horses should read the stock-use rules guide before planning a route.

Saddle horses standing in a corral beside red rock cliffs at dawn

A quick reference for the two in-park rides, as the operator states them:

Ride Length Price Age Weight limit Departure point
Virgin River Ride 1 hour $60 per person 7+ 220 lbs Emerald Pool trailhead lot, across from Zion Lodge
Sand Bench Trail Ride 3 hours $125 per person 10+ 220 lbs Emerald Pool trailhead lot, across from Zion Lodge

One practical note the operator adds: check-in is at the Emerald Pool trailhead parking area, and riders should arrive 30 minutes early. That lot sits on the canyon road, which during shuttle season is closed to private vehicles, a logistics point this guide returns to below.

What Is The Difference Between The In-Park Rides And The Outside-Park Stables?

The in-park rides put you on the canyon floor beside the Virgin River; the outside-park stables put you on high desert plateaus, near slot canyons, or around a bison preserve, with easier parking and lower entry prices. In-park prices run $60 to $125 per person, while the outside-park lineup runs from $32 to $105, and the weight limit is 220 lbs in the park against 100 kg on several outside-park rides depending on the operator.

The scenery difference is the honest headline. The concessioner's route is the bottom of a deep canyon, river-level, framed by the Patriarchs. None of the outside-park listings enters the canyon or follows the Virgin River; what they offer instead is the panorama, the East Zion rides look out over the park's east rim country, the Mt Carmel rides take in Zion, the Grand Staircase and distant Bryce Canyon in one sweep, and the Kanab ride threads a green canyon of its own. If your mental image is riding beneath towering sandstone walls, that image is the in-park ride. If it is golden-hour light across three parks at once, that is Mt Carmel. Before you commit to either style of ride, our guide to horseback riding in Zion National Park walks through the logistics of both.

The logistics difference matters just as much. The in-park check-in requires dealing with park entrance fees, canyon parking and, in the main season, the shuttle, since private vehicles cannot drive the Zion Canyon Scenic Drive when the shuttle runs. The outside-park corrals are drive-up affairs: the East Zion Adventures departure point near Orderville is a parking lot by the pickleball courts with a short walk to the horses, and the Rove & Ramble ranch near Mt Carmel is a meet-at-the-ranch arrangement with no pickup offered. The trade for that ease is drive time from Springdale, which the inside versus outside the park comparison breaks down by starting point.

Booking and cancellation also split along this line. The concessioner requires cancellation 24 hours in advance for a refund of the ride cost, with online booking fees non-refundable, and reservations for a new season open January 1. The outside-park listings on this site carry their own terms shown at booking, and several can be reserved closer to the ride date than the in-park rides, which sell out weeks ahead in summer.

Between those three listings sit the full lineup's other options: the Checkerboard evening ride, the sunrise ride, the Grandview sunset ride and the Little Wrangler kids' loop, all covered in the next section.

Which Ride Fits Your Time, Scenery And Fitness?

Match length first: 15 minutes for small children on the hand-led Little Wrangler ride, 1 hour on five different listings, or 1.5 hours on the Checkerboard evening ride and the Kanab canyon ride, plus the 3-hour in-park Sand Bench option. Match scenery second, slot canyon at Orderville, sunrise or sunset panoramas at Mt Carmel, a bison preserve loop, or the canyon floor itself. Fitness demands are low; all rides are walking-pace guided trail rides.

Riders with a free morning and a want for something distinctive gravitate to the Kanab Cave Lakes Canyon ride. Roam Outdoor Adventure Co. runs it over about 1.5 hours through a green canyon near Kanab, and it carries a 4.9 rating across 122 reviews, the strongest rating-to-volume profile in the lineup. The weight limit is 100 kg. It is also the most expensive outside-park listing at from $105 per person.

Families with younger children have a narrower field: here, only the Little Wrangler ride in Southern Utah takes riders below age 8. The Rove & Ramble rides near Mt Carmel, covering the Juniper Ridge bison preserve ride, the sunrise ride and the Grandview sunset ride, publish no age or weight minimums on their listings, so check the live booking page for rider requirements before reserving. For children aged 3 and up, the Little Wrangler ride is a 15-minute hand-led loop around the cabins near the ranch, from $32, with no weight limit stated on the listing. Age planning across every option, including how the kids' ride fits a family day, is covered in the age limits and kids guide.

Horse trail winding through juniper and piñon woodland toward distant mesas

The scenery matchup, in lineup terms:

Listing Operator Length Scenery and signature
East Zion White Mountain ride East Zion Adventures ~1 hour Ride to a slot canyon with a short hike inside
Checkerboard Evening Shadow ride East Zion Adventures ~1.5 hours Evening shadows on Checkerboard Mesa country
Grandview sunset ride Rove & Ramble ~1 hour Sunset over Zion, Bryce Canyon and the Grand Staircase, chance of bison
Sunrise ride Rove & Ramble ~1 hour Dawn views of Grand Staircase, East Gate and distant Bryce
Juniper Ridge ride Rove & Ramble ~1 hour Loop around a bison preserve with canyon views
Little Wrangler kids ride Rove & Ramble 15 minutes Hand-led scenic loop near the ranch cabins
Kanab Cave Lakes ride Roam Outdoor Adventure Co. ~1.5 hours Green canyon near Kanab

Note the honest caveat the lineup itself carries: bison sightings on the Grandview and Juniper Ridge rides are described as a chance, not a promise. Wildlife moves on its own schedule, and no operator near Zion guarantees an encounter.

What Do The Rides Cost And What Limits Apply?

Outside-park rides run from $32 per person for the Little Wrangler kids ride to $105 for the Kanab canyon ride, with most one-hour listings between $68 and $103, while in-park rides cost $60 for one hour or $125 for three; weight caps are 100 kg on East Zion Adventures and Kanab listings, and 220 lbs for the in-park concessioner, whose minimum ages run 7 to 10.

The price ladder has a shape worth reading. The East Zion White Mountain ride at from $75 is the entry point for an adult canyon-country ride, and it packs a slot canyon hike into its hour. The Juniper Ridge ride at from $68 is the cheapest way onto a Rove & Ramble saddle. The sunrise ride at from $85 and the Checkerboard evening ride at from $89 bracket the golden hours. The Grandview sunset ride at from $103 tops the 1-hour field on its from price. Every printed figure here is a snapshot, from prices included, so let the live listing confirm the amount you will actually pay; the prices guide carries that same check across the full comparison.

Listing From price Weight limit Minimum age Rating
Little Wrangler kids ride $32 none stated 3 no rating on the listing yet
Juniper Ridge ride $68 Not stated Not stated 4.7 across 3 reviews
East Zion White Mountain ride $75 100 kg 8 4.8 across 506 reviews
Sunrise ride $85 Not stated Not stated 5.0 across 1 review
Checkerboard evening ride $89 100 kg Not stated 4.7 across 46 reviews
Grandview sunset ride $103 Not stated Not stated 5.0 across 3 reviews
Kanab Cave Lakes ride $105 100 kg Not stated 4.9 across 122 reviews
In-park Virgin River ride $60 220 lbs 7 rated on review platforms
In-park Sand Bench ride $125 220 lbs 10 rated on review platforms

On weight, a word of framing rather than a promise. The 100 kg limits are listing-stated, the 220 lb in-park limit is operator-stated, and common riding guidance adds a general horse-welfare guideline that a rider should weigh no more than roughly 20 percent of the horse's weight, which is why limits vary by stable rather than following one rule. Borderline cases should ask the operator directly; no listing promises acceptance. The weight limits guide covers how stables handle the question in practice. If you're wondering whether you will actually step on a scale before mounting up, the guide to how Zion-area stables weigh riders at check-in explains what to expect and what options remain if a limit is exceeded.

A table comparing four Zion area horseback rides by length, price per person, minimum age, and rider weight limit.
Prices and rider limits for in-park and outside-park rides.

Ratings deserve honest handling too. The White Mountain ride's 4.8 across 506 reviews and the Kanab ride's 4.9 across 122 carry real statistical weight. The Little Wrangler ride for kids is the only listing with no reviews published yet, so there is no rating to cite for that one.

How Do You Get To Each Ride And Check In?

The in-park rides check in at the Emerald Pool trailhead lot across from Zion Lodge, 30 minutes early, reached by shuttle during shuttle season since private vehicles cannot drive the canyon road then; the East Zion rides depart near the pickleball courts lot in Orderville with no pickup, and the Rove & Ramble and Kanab rides are meet-at-the-ranch, so every outside-park ride requires your own vehicle or an arranged ride.

The two check-in cultures could not differ more. In the canyon, you park in Springdale or at the visitor center, ride the shuttle to the lodge stop, and walk to the corrals; the shuttle runs about every 5 to 10 minutes on the canyon line, and the schedule, including the last departure times that shift through the fall, is published by the park and is subject to change. During the November 29 to December 25 suspension there is no shuttle at all, though the riding season has ended by then anyway. Confirm the stop with the operator when booking, since the NPS page does not spell out the lodge-stop detail.

Outside the park, everything is car-first. The East Zion Adventures corrals sit on the east side, where the operator's directions say to park at the pickleball courts lot and walk in. The four Rove & Ramble listings and the Kanab ride all say meet at the ranch, no pickup offered. The east-side and Mt Carmel rides do share one advantage: they sit on or near the Zion-Mt Carmel Highway side of the park, so a driver coming from Bryce Canyon or Page reaches them without entering the canyon at all, and can skip the entrance-station question entirely for the ride itself. The east Zion riding guide maps the departure points against lodging clusters.

Gravel ranch road curving toward sandstone buttes under a wide desert sky

Entrance fees follow the same split. If your ride starts inside the park, everyone in your vehicle still needs a park pass even though the ride is separately paid, and the NPS fees page lists the private vehicle pass at $35 valid 1 to 7 days. Riders heading only to the outside-park corrals do not pass an entrance station and owe nothing to the park for the ride. One lineup wrinkle: see the Checkerboard evening ride's listing for its full inclusions. The entrance fee guide for riders works through the permutations.

When Should You Book And How Do Seasons Affect The Choice?

Book the in-park rides weeks ahead for summer dates, since one concessioner serves the whole canyon and reservations open January 1 for the March-through-October season; the outside-park listings spread demand across several operators, but sunset and sunrise slots still fill first, and summer heat pushes most riders toward early morning or evening rides in any case.

Season shapes the decision more than most first-time visitors expect. Summer in Zion runs hot, the park's own seasons page notes temperatures regularly over 100°F, and parking in the canyon is often full by 9 am in the busiest months. June sits at roughly 1.5 times the park's average monthly visitation while January sits near 0.3 times. For riders, that argues for the sunrise ride at Mt Carmel or the Checkerboard and Grandview evening rides over any midday saddle in July through September, and the monsoon, which runs July through September and brings flash flood risk, is the reason slot canyons and the Narrows periodically close; check the NPS conditions page rather than assuming any specific route is open.

Spring and fall are the sweet spots. Spring brings wildflowers to the higher country where the east-side rides run, and fall color reaches the canyon by late October and early November. The in-park season runs March through October, covering both the Virgin River ride and the Sand Bench Trail trip. The best time guide and the winter riding guide split the calendar in detail.

Season In-park rides Outside-park rides What shapes the choice
Spring (Mar-May) Season opens mid-March All listings running Wildflowers, wet-trail stock closures possible
Summer (Jun-Aug) Peak demand, book far ahead Sunrise and sunset rides favored Heat over 100°F, monsoon flood risk, 9 am parking fill
Fall (Sep-Oct) Season ends October 31 Golden-hour demand, fall color Late-October color in the canyon, shuttle schedule shifts
Winter (Nov-Feb) Not running Listings continue, dress in layers Sand Bench open to personal stock only Nov 1 to Mar 1

Booking windows also differ by operator scale. One concessioner with two daily departure sets per ride serves the entire canyon market against roughly half a million visitors a month in peak summer, which is why in-park seats are the scarcest in the region. The outside-park operators run multiple listings across a morning and evening, but the sunrise ride at Mt Carmel is a fixed-window product, the sun does not wait, so those departures sell out ahead of the midday ones.

What Should First-Time Riders Know Before Choosing?

First-time riders are welcome on every listing in the lineup and both in-park rides; all are guided, walking-pace trail rides with horses assigned by the wranglers, so a 1-hour listing is the sensible first ride, with the 3-hour Sand Bench option best saved for riders who know they enjoy hours in the saddle.

Guided rides near Zion are built for novices. The concessioner's guides assign horses or mules based on rider experience and comfort, the Juniper Ridge listing advertises experienced guides as a core inclusion, and none of the listings requires prior riding experience. Reviews of the in-park rides repeatedly praise the guides' handling of first-time riders, and the lineup's most reviewed listing, the White Mountain ride, includes a short hike into a slot canyon on foot, which breaks up the saddle time nicely for a nervous beginner.

Gear needs are modest: closed-toe shoes and comfortable outdoor clothing, a hat, sunscreen and a water bottle are the standard recommendations for guided rides in this climate, and helmets are recommended for all riders. The full packing list, including what layers a fall or winter morning demands on the high plateaus, lives in the what to wear guide. A short warm-up on the Little Wrangler ride is also a legitimate tactic for a horse-curious child not yet old enough for the trail rides, though at 15 minutes hand-led it is a taste, not a lesson.

Empty western saddle resting on a rail fence with mesa cliffs behind

For a first adult ride, the decision usually comes down to the White Mountain slot canyon ride and the Juniper Ridge bison preserve ride, both 1 hour, both gentle, $75 versus $68, differing mainly in scenery type and weight limit. The beginners guide walks the same comparison for nervous riders. Whichever you pick, this site, Zion Horseback Tours, compares only real bookable listings and prints the numbers the operators publish.

Common Questions About Horseback Riding In Zion National Park

Can you do horseback riding in Zion National Park without booking ahead?

Walk-up space is unlikely in the main season. The in-park concessioner's rides sell out weeks ahead in summer, and reservations for each season open January 1. The outside-park listings are more flexible, but sunrise and sunset departures fill first, so book those windows early.

Which is cheaper, the in-park rides or the outside-park stables?

They overlap. The in-park 1-hour Virgin River ride is $60 per person, cheaper than any adult outside-park listing, but the 3-hour Sand Bench ride at $125 is the most expensive option in the region. Outside-park adult rides run from $68 to $105, and the kids' hand-led loop is $32.

Do any rides actually enter Zion Canyon?

Only the concessioner's guided rides ride the canyon floor, along the Virgin River and up the Sand Bench Trail. Every outside-park listing stays on the surrounding high country; they offer panoramas of Zion, the Grand Staircase and Bryce Canyon, not the canyon interior.

Is there a weight limit for horseback riding in Zion National Park?

Yes on every listing. The in-park concessioner states 220 lbs, East Zion Adventures and the Kanab operator state 100 kg, and the Rove & Ramble rides list none. No listing promises acceptance for borderline cases; ask the operator directly.

Can young children ride horses near Zion?

Yes. The Little Wrangler ride near Mt Carmel takes children from age 3 on a 15-minute hand-led loop. Only the White Mountain ride sets a minimum age of 8; the Checkerboard and Kanab rides, like the Rove & Ramble listings, leave the minimum age to the booking page. In the park, the 1-hour ride is age 7+ and the 3-hour ride is age 10+.

Do you need a park entrance pass for an outside-park ride?

Not for the ride itself. The outside-park corrals sit beyond the entrance stations, so no recreational use pass is required unless you also drive into the park. The Checkerboard evening ride's inclusions are listed on the live booking page.