Private Horseback Rides Near Zion: When A Private Ride Is Worth It
No listing in our current lineup is sold as a private ride, but small-group rides near Zion often deliver the same intimacy for two people, and a few operators in the region run true private rides you book with them directly.
Short answer
None of the seven rides we compare is sold as a private ride. The closest matches are small guided groups: from $105 per person at Kanab's Cave Lakes Canyon and from $89 for the Checkerboard evening ride at East Zion. True private rides exist at regional ranches, booked with the operator directly.
A search for "private horseback riding Zion" usually means one of three things: a couple wanting to ride alone together, a family wanting to ride without strangers, or someone planning a proposal and wanting a photographer along. All three are reasonable asks, and all three are common enough that operators in the region have answers for them. The honest answer starts with what is actually for sale. Across the seven listings this site compares, from the East Zion White Mountain slot canyon ride to the Kanab Cave Lakes canyon ride, none is marketed as a private ride. They are guided group rides with small caps, which in practice often means very few riders per departure, especially outside peak weeks.
That distinction matters for budgeting. A true private ride, one horse each and a guide who works only for your party, carries a premium everywhere it exists in southern Utah. A small shared group gets you most of the same quiet trail time for the standard per-person price. This guide lays out which operators offer what, what the rides actually include, what a private ride costs when you can get one, and how couples planning a proposal or a photo session should think about it. Every listing names its operator, duration, and cancellation policy.
Do Any Operators Near Zion Sell Private Horseback Rides?
Yes, but not through the rides listed on this site. Regional ranches including Zion Mountain Ranch and East Zion Adventures offer private or semi-private ride formats booked directly with the operator, while all seven rides in our lineup are guided group rides. The lineup covers shared rides from $32 to $105 per person; a private ride with the regional stables is quoted case by case and never carries a fixed public per-person price.
Start with what is verified. Zion Mountain Ranch, on the east side of the park, lists guided horseback tours of 1, 2, or 4 hours through the mountains surrounding the park, on its own activities page. East Zion Adventures, the operator behind the White Mountain and Checkerboard rides in our lineup, also runs longer and larger-format rides from the Zion Ponderosa area, including a 2-hour Pine Knoll ride and a 3-hour trail ride and cowboy cookout, according to its operator page. Neither of those appears in our lineup, and neither is sold here, but their existence tells you the private-ride conversation starts with the operator, not with a booking button. If you would rather ride inside the park itself, our guide to the Sand Bench Trail horseback ride in Zion walks through what that longer option actually involves.
For comparison, the rides this site does compare are shared by design. The East Zion White Mountain ride, a 1-hour ride to a slot canyon from $75 per person, rated 4.8 across 506 reviews, caps riders with one guide per group. The Kanab Cave Lakes canyon ride runs about 1.5 hours, from $105 per person, and is rated 4.9 across 122 reviews. These are the rides a couple books when "private enough" is the goal, and they are the ones with live availability you can check in one place.
The in-park option is never private at all. Canyon Trail Rides, the National Park Service concessioner, runs guided horse and mule rides along the Virgin River and up the Sand Bench Trail, and the NPS horseback riding page describes them as scheduled group departures. If riding inside the park as a couple matters more than exclusivity, that concessioner is the only legal way to do it, and you book with them directly.
| Ride format near Zion | Who runs it | Booked how | Private? |
|---|---|---|---|
| East Zion White Mountain 1-hour ride | East Zion Adventures | Live listing on this site | No, small guided group |
| Checkerboard Evening Shadow ride | East Zion Adventures | Live listing on this site | No, small guided group |
| Kanab Cave Lakes canyon ride | Roam Outdoor Adventure Co. | Live listing on this site | No, small guided group |
| Rove & Ramble rides (Mt Carmel) | Rove & Ramble | Live listing on this site | No, small guided group |
| Ranch rides, 1 to 4 hours | Zion Mountain Ranch | Direct with the ranch | Private and semi-private formats quoted on request |
| Longer rides and cookouts | East Zion Adventures | Direct with the operator | Larger formats, not in our lineup |

A practical note on timing: shared rides at these small operations frequently leave with only a handful of booked riders. A Tuesday morning departure at the Kanab Cave Lakes canyon ride or a sunrise ride at Mt Carmel can end up feeling close to private without anyone paying for exclusivity. Ask the operator at booking how full the departure is; they will usually tell you, and some will suggest the quietest time slots.
What Does A Private Ride Cost Compared To A Shared Ride Near Zion?
Shared rides in our lineup run from $32 per person for the 15-minute Little Wrangler kids' ride to $105 per person for the 1.5-hour Kanab Cave Lakes canyon ride. Private rides at regional ranches are quoted individually and typically cost a multiple of the shared per-person rate, because you are buying out the guide and the horses for your party alone. There is no fixed public private-ride price to print.
The shared-ride math is straightforward and worth setting out side by side, because it frames what you are paying a premium over. All prices below are the "from" prices on the listings as this site records them; the booking page shows the live figure.
| Ride | Duration | From price | Rating on the listing |
|---|---|---|---|
| Little Wrangler kids' ride (Mt Carmel) | 15 minutes | $32 per person | No rating yet |
| Juniper Ridge bison preserve ride (Mt Carmel) | 1 hour | $68 per person | 4.7 across 3 reviews |
| East Zion White Mountain slot canyon ride | 1 hour | $75 per person | 4.8 across 506 reviews |
| Sunrise ride with scenic views (Mt Carmel) | 1 hour | $85 per person | 5.0 across 1 review |
| Checkerboard Evening Shadow ride (East Zion) | 1.5 hours | $89 per person | 4.7 across 46 reviews |
| Grandview sunset ride (Mt Carmel) | 1 hour | $103 per person | 5.0 across 3 reviews |
| Cave Lakes Canyon ride (Kanab) | 1.5 hours | $105 per person | 4.9 across 122 reviews |
Against that ladder, a private ride is a different product. Ranches that offer it price on request because the cost depends on party size, duration, and season, and quoting a number here would be inventing one. What we can say from the structure of the market: expect the per-person cost of a private ride to land well above the top of the shared ladder above, sometimes several times higher for a party of two, since the operator is turning away other bookings for your exclusivity.
The decision frame is therefore simple. If the goal is scenery, a good guide, and horses under you, the shared rides deliver that from $68 to $105 per person, and the most reviewed option, the White Mountain ride with 506 reviews behind a 4.8 rating, is also one of the least expensive. If the goal is specifically that nobody else is on the trail, because a proposal or an anniversary is involved, budget for a private format booked direct and treat the shared rides as the fallback. Our full price comparison for Zion horseback riding breaks the shared-ride costs down further, including what the in-park concessioner charges.
One cost line people forget: the park entrance pass. If your private or shared ride starts outside park boundaries, as every ride in our lineup does, no entrance pass is needed for the ride itself. The Checkerboard evening ride is one of three sunset and sunrise rides in this lineup. Riders who add a park visit on the same day should check the NPS fees page, where a private vehicle pass is listed at $35, valid 1 to 7 days.
Which Rides Feel Most Private Even When They Are Shared?
The Kanab Cave Lakes canyon ride and the Checkerboard evening ride are the lineup's best near-private experiences: longer durations, 1.5 hours each, departure points away from the main park crowds, and small guided groups. The sunrise ride at Mt Carmel adds the quietest trail conditions of the day, from $85 per person, because few travellers book a dawn departure.
The Kanab ride earns its place first. It departs from a ranch outside Kanab, runs about 1.5 hours with a guide and horses, and is rated 4.9 across 122 reviews. Because Kanab is a separate base from Springdale and the east entrance corridor, its departures draw from a smaller pool of visitors than anything anchored to the park itself. A couple booking it midweek has a realistic chance of a nearly empty ride. See the Kanab Cave Lakes canyon ride listing for what the 1.5 hours include.
The Checkerboard Evening Shadow ride works the same logic at a different hour. It is a 1.5-hour sunset departure from East Zion, from $89 per person, rated 4.7 across 46 reviews. Evening rides filter for commitment: the people who book them are couples and small groups, not bus tours, and the light is the kind photographers plan around. Meeting details come in the booking confirmation.
For dawn people, the sunrise ride from Mt Carmel is the quietest option in the lineup. From $85 per person, it rides toward panoramic views of the Grand Staircase, Zion's East Gate, and Bryce Canyon in the distance. Sunrise departures run before most of the region has poured its first coffee. Fewer bookers, emptier ride.
How Do Group Sizes Work On Guided Rides Near Zion?
Every ride in the lineup is a guided group ride with one or more wranglers assigned per party; none publishes a fixed cap in its listing, so group size varies by departure. The practical levers are day of week, departure time, and season: midweek, off-season, and dawn slots routinely produce the smallest groups. For a hard number, ask the operator at booking.
Group size is the variable private-ride seekers actually care about, and it is the one thing no listing pins down. Operators in the region staff to the bookings they hold, which is why the same ride can be two people one morning and ten the next. Rather than promising a number, the useful move is to choose departures that structurally attract fewer riders, then confirm with the operator. They know their booking calendar and will usually steer you honestly; an empty departure costs them nothing to promise, a full one they cannot hide. Other pages covering the same trip are gathered on Zion Horseback Tours.
The weight and age limits interact with group composition too, and they differ by operator, so a mixed family party should check before assuming everyone rides together. The White Mountain ride requires a minimum age of 8, and it plus the Checkerboard and Kanab rides set a 100 kg rider weight limit. The Rove & Ramble rides from Mt Carmel state no age or weight limits on their listings, and the Little Wrangler kids' ride takes riders from age 3 as a hand-led 15-minute loop. Our guide to age limits and kids' rides near Zion covers the family angle in full.
| ride | Weight limit | Minimum age | Duration |
|---|---|---|---|
| White Mountain slot canyon ride | 100 kg | 8 | ~1 hour |
| Checkerboard evening ride | 100 kg | Not stated | ~1.5 hours |
| Kanab Cave Lakes ride | 100 kg | Not stated | ~1.5 hours |
| Juniper Ridge bison preserve ride | Not stated | Not stated | ~1 hour |
| Grandview sunset ride | Not stated | Not stated | ~1 hour |
| Sunrise scenic ride | Not stated | Not stated | ~1 hour |
| Little Wrangler kids' ride | None stated on the listing | 3 | ~15 minutes |

For borderline weight cases, the answer is never a promise. Common riding guidance uses roughly a 20 percent ratio of rider weight to horse weight as a welfare guideline, but it is a guideline, not a rule any operator here publishes. Ask the operator directly; they match horses to riders and would rather answer the question than refund a turned-away guest at the corral.
Is A Private Ride Worth It For A Proposal Or Photo Session?
For a proposal, often yes, and the deciding factor is control over timing and bystanders rather than scenery. The near-private rides handle most photo sessions well, but a proposal usually wants a stalled moment on the trail, which needs an operator's cooperation. Book direct, say what you are planning, and expect to pay for the flexibility.
Operators in southern Utah stage proposals regularly enough that it is a service line, not a surprise. The pattern that works: call the ranch, explain the plan, and let them place your party on a quiet departure or build a private one. Some will hold a photographer's slot, position the stop, or time the ride to the light. None of that is bookable through a standard listing, and none of it has a fixed price, which is why the private-ride conversation is always a phone call or a direct inquiry first.
What the shared rides can do is carry the moment. The Checkerboard evening ride rides into the shadow hour at East Zion, and the Grandview sunset ride from Mt Carmel looks across Zion, Bryce Canyon, and the Grand Staircase in one sweep, with a chance of bison the operator describes as possible, never promised. Either gives a photographer-grade backdrop. What they cannot give is an empty trail on demand. If the answer to "can there be other riders present" is no, that is the point where the private premium buys something real.
A note on photographers: a non-riding photographer usually needs the operator's explicit okay, and sometimes a seat on a wagon or a hike to a viewpoint. Ask before booking anything. Helmet and footwear norms also apply to everyone mounted; guided rides in the region recommend closed-toe shoes and helmets for all riders, and a photographer on horseback is still a rider. The Zion Ponderosa ranch rides page is one example of an operator publishing its own riding requirements, and it reflects the regional norm.

One thing not to overpay for: a private ride inside Zion National Park itself. The concessioner does not sell private departures; it sells scheduled group rides along the Virgin River and up the Sand Bench Trail. Exclusivity inside the canyon is not a product anyone is licensed to sell you. Our comparison of riding inside versus outside the park sets out the honest trade.
Can A Family Get A Private-Style Ride Near Zion?
Families have the easiest path of anyone: the lineup's family-category rides already run as small guided groups, and a family of four or five can plausibly book out an entire departure at shared prices. The Juniper Ridge bison preserve ride from $68 per person and the Grandview sunset ride from $103 both welcome families, while the Little Wrangler ride covers ages 3 and up.
The economics favour families here. A couple buying out a departure still pays a per-couple premium relative to a shared ride, but a family of five booking a quiet departure at standard per-person rates gets exclusivity as a side effect of arithmetic. Five riders from $68 per person on the Juniper Ridge ride, a gentle hour around a bison preserve with distant views of Bryce Canyon, is a family experience that reads private on the trail even though the listing never says so.
The Rove & Ramble rides all depart from the same ranch at Mt Carmel with no pickup, so a family can also stack experiences: a sunrise or sunset ride for the adults and older kids, a hand-led Little Wrangler loop for the smallest rider from $32, all in one morning at one meeting point. The wrangler leads each child individually around a scenic loop near the cabins, which is about as controlled as a first ride gets for a three-year-old.
Booking the whole family into one departure is also the one scenario where calling the operator ahead genuinely changes the outcome, since they can confirm horses are available for your exact count and ages. Do that before you book, then book the listing. Weight limits per rider still apply on several of these rides, and honesty at booking beats an awkward conversation at the corral.
| Family situation | Best lineup fit | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Kids aged 3 to 6 in the mix | Little Wrangler kids' ride | Hand-led, from age 3, 15 minutes, from $32 |
| Families on a budget | Juniper Ridge horseback ride | From $68, 1 hour, free cancellation |
| Golden hour, no minimum age stated | Grandview sunset ride | From $103, panoramic sunset, possible bison |
| Kids 8 and up, slot canyon goal | White Mountain ride | From $75, age 8+, includes a short hike into a slot canyon |
| Adults only, longest quiet ride | Kanab Cave Lakes ride | 1.5 hours, from $105 |
How Should You Actually Book Something Private?
Call or message the operator first, describe your party and your goal, and only then book the shared listing or the private quote they offer. Every ride here is booked through the live listing, private formats are booked direct with the ranch, and the in-park concessioner is booked with the concessioner itself. If a stable offers none of the three, it is not in this site's scope at all.
The sequence matters because the listings and the private conversation are different transactions. The listings on this site cover shared rides with firm from-prices and live availability; a private format is a bespoke quote that only the operator can give. Start with the rides you can see priced, decide whether their group reality is close enough to private for your occasion, and escalate to a direct private booking only if it is not. For most couples, the Checkerboard evening ride or the Kanab canyon ride is close enough. For a proposal with a photographer and a ring, it usually is not, and the direct call is worth the premium.
Geography helps you here. The private-capable ranches cluster on the east side: Zion Mountain Ranch and the Zion Ponderosa area anchor the East Zion corridor, and the lineup's Mt Carmel rides are minutes from the same stretch. Someone staying in Springdale can do a morning shuttle-and-canyon day in the park and still reach an evening ride at Mt Carmel for sunset. Our east Zion horseback riding guide maps the corridor and its stables.

Whatever you book, read the cancellation terms before you commit. The concessioner states a 24-hour advance cancellation for a refund of the ride cost, with online booking fees non-refundable, and the booking page is the authority for the outside-park rides too. Weather in desert country moves fast: the NPS notes summer temperatures regularly over 100°F and a monsoon season from July through September carrying flash flood risk, and slot canyons in the region close when flood danger rises. A ride with flexible terms is worth more than a slightly cheaper one without them, on the day it matters.
The short version of this whole guide: private riding near Zion is a phone call, near-private riding is a booking away, and the difference is mostly about who else is on the trail. For most couples and families, a well-chosen shared departure at a quiet hour delivers the experience the search was after, at a from-price between $68 and $105 per person, and this site exists to help you pick that departure with real numbers instead of guesses. For the occasions where only exclusivity will do, the regional ranches will build it, and now you know which ones to call.
Common Questions About Private Horseback Riding In Zion
Can you book a fully private horseback ride near Zion?
Not through any ride listed on this site; all seven are guided group rides. Regional ranches including Zion Mountain Ranch offer private and semi-private formats, quoted and booked directly with the operator. Inside the park itself, the concessioner sells only scheduled group departures.
What does a private horseback ride near Zion cost?
Private rides are quoted case by case and no fixed public price exists to print. For comparison, shared rides in the lineup run from $32 for the kids' 15-minute ride to $105 per person for the 1.5-hour Kanab canyon ride, and a private format typically costs well above that ladder.
Which shared ride feels the most private?
The Kanab Cave Lakes canyon ride and the Checkerboard evening ride are the strongest picks: 1.5-hour durations, departure bases away from the main park crowds, and small guided groups. The sunrise ride from Mt Carmel adds the emptiest trails of the day.
Can a proposal be arranged on a horseback ride near Zion?
Yes, and operators in the region stage them regularly. Call the ranch directly, explain the plan, and ask about timing, a photographer, and a quiet departure. A private format is usually the right call for a proposal; a shared sunset ride often works for an anniversary or a photo session.
Do you need a park entrance pass for a private ride outside Zion?
No. Every ride in this site's lineup starts outside park boundaries and needs no entrance pass. The Checkerboard evening ride, an hour and a half out of Orderville, is the longest of the sunset listings.
Can a family get a whole departure to themselves?
Plausibly, at shared prices. A family of four or five booking a midweek or off-peak departure can effectively buy out the ride, especially on the Mt Carmel rides and the Little Wrangler loop from age 3. Confirm rider count and ages with the operator when you book.